Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 04 : Heart lettuce crunchies

Yippeee another week and a new challenge lettuce, I don't often use lettuce since I am the only one that eats it in my household hihi ... I make it when I get company though... this evening I went all out on lettuce on a 2-course lettuce dinner, my dads friend got out of the hospital this afternoon ( she had an aneurism in her head 2 days ago and we have been very worried for her and her dog has been here with us, so it was wonderful that she came home.) I was planning to do my first entry to this weeks contest today and the second tomorrow ... but had already shopped and on the spur of the moment I invited her to stay for dinner so I made both my dishes !
Not a lot of pics as she was talking with me in the kitchen while I was working ...
My first entry is a starter where heart lettuce is the star wrap
IMG_0613.JPG
Ingredients
heart lettuce
canned crabmeat
red grapefruit
avocado
mayonaise
strawberries
salt and pepper
lime boats
IMG_3139.JPG
a couple of the ingredients
IMG_6095.JPG
simply mix the mayo, just a little, with crabmeat, grapefruit meat and avocado and season to taste
IMG_0763.JPG
it's fresh the grapefruit and the crabmeat is very fresh so the mayo does not weigh it down at all
IMG_5469.JPG
plate it...the strawberries add a little sass... this is fingerfood ... I serve it up on a plate with a portion for each and a possibility to add on the filling ...
Get that proofpic before it is gone ...
IMG_3368.JPG
...it is a simple dish ... but the combination of flavors work wonderfully and when you fold up the lettuce and bite in it explodes with taste and crunch in your mouth and with the surprising elements of the red grapefruit and the strawberry it is quite a wonderful bite ... and it went down very well with my dads friend and myself... my daughter refused to taste and my dad looked weird in the face by the prospect of digging into the unknown .... so 50/50 win hehe it all disappeared though !
IMG_4187.JPG
Stay tuned for the main ... I will be posting it tomorrow, as it is quite late here now ... and I still have a bit of work to wrap up in the arts department !
Thank you to @progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

Sort:  

Thank you so much, I am happy to hear that !

Looks delicious! I like to adopt the idea with the red grapefruit!

Thank you ! it is a great combination, the red grapefruit compliments the crabmeat so nicely !

Compliments @globaldoodlegems ! this dish looks very fresh and tasty!
To try : )

Thank you so much !

great combination, this looks so yummy

Thank you, it was very yummie and fresh ...

First I hope your dad is better and tell him that the combination of flavors that you made seemed spectacular to me.
It is very refreshing without a doubt
Have a quiet night Maria

Thank you ... his friends is doing better , she is nervous though, I understand that , it was a chock for her ... It was a lovely meal and I was happy that I could invite her to eat with us ... You too have a lovely day !

I am always so impressed with your dishes my friend, all the components you used in making your food always matches perfectly!
Crabmeat-avo-grapefruit + Mayo = explosion of flavors for sure!
Going to check the main now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15