Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #13: Raw Tuna, Scallops and Oranges with a twist

This weeks theme, Oranges... to my daughters great disappointment I realised early on that I did not feel like making a dessertIMG_8381.JPG
I am so happy with how my idea turned out ... one thing is toying with the combinations in my head ... another thing is seeing them on the finished plate ....as usual I had this beauty of a dish all to myself ...lol ...Here in cold grey and rainy Copenhagen for a little while it felt like summer ......

Ingredients
Scallops
Raw Tuna
Crayfish
Oranges
Fennel
Spring Onions
Coriander
Bronzefennel
mixed salad
Pomegranate
edame beans
sweet peas
chilli
mustard powder
fresh orange juice
olive oil
soy sauce
balsamico
sesame oil
salt pepper
mayonaise
IMG_8359.JPG
Elements of the Dish
IMG_8374.JPG
Scallop Carpaccio
2 raw scallops slice finely and lay out on clingwrap
IMG_8361.JPG
use rollerpin to flatten
IMG_8362.JPG
smear orange/mustard/mayo
IMG_8362.JPG
IMG_8363.JPG
carefully place
IMG_8364.JPG
and unwrap onto the plate
Raw Tuna Steak
IMG_8360.JPG
smear the orange/mustad/mayo on the spot where you are placing your tuna steak (if you don't like it raw you can flame torch it lightly ---
IMG_8365.JPG
Place your scallop carparccio plate and you tuna steak
IMG_8373.JPG
Orange fennel salad
IMG_8372.JPG
chop and mix finely sliced fennel,bronzefennel,coriander,spring onions,mixed salad,oranges and crayfish with Orange/mustard/mayo

salad.gif
IMG_8393.JPGPlate it and add pomegranate seeds, edamebeans and sweet peas
Orange dressing
juice of half an orange
oliveoil
squirts of lime
finely sliced red chilli
drops of sesame oil
a bit of orange juice mustard powder mix
salt and pepper
IMG_8375.JPG
Drizzle over the Carpaccio and the steak just before serving
Orange mayo
IMG_8342.JPG
fresh orange juice and mustard powder
IMG_8343.JPG
this makes a very potent and strong mustard so cut it up a bit with homemede mayo adding it to the may bit by bit and tasting until you reach your level of hot
IMG_8346.JPG
use it under the Carpaccio and under the steak... and mix it in the salad
IMG_8376.JPG
add a nice dollop on your plate for dipping !
whole.gif
The process in short form ...
IMG_8386.JPG
Do not forget your proof pic ....
IMG_8383.JPG
and voila an elegant and quite sofisticated explosion of tastes ready to go off in your mouth...
Enjoy your meal !
IMG_8393.JPG
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

I liked the idea of a video - we should do more videos @globaldoodlegems

I usually do a couple of slideshows ... it is hard to do a video when you are alone in the kitchen ... I once had my daughter assist and video while I poured a glaze ... that was pretty neat ... it could be fun with more video's

That is a wonderful dish not only for the combination of flavors but also the complimentary colors of the garnishes and ingredients! Art for the eyes and the palate:-) Upvoted and followed.

Thank you so much for your compliment... I really appreciate it ...so happy to hear that you like it !

Citrus fruits like oranges can never go wrong with seafood!! XD such an amazing dish as always... :)

Thank you so much, I am happy to hear that you found it amazing ... I loved coming up with it, creating and eating it ... was a nice treat for me ! Normally every day cooking I cook to soothe the tastes of my daughter and of my dad ...which I have to admit is a bit boooooring ! So with the challenge I go all in and try to cook what I would love to eat ... hihi ...My weekly adventure dish ... wish I could do that every day ...maybe as my daughter gets older she will start digging more interesting food ... I will keep introducing her to it ...

I could feel the vibes.... so wonderful. ~~~~~~~~***

Thank you so much ... glad you felt the vibes ...hihi

What a beautifully prepared and thought out dish, congratulations @globaldoodlegems! I bet it was delicious and citrus-y :)

Thank you so much... and yes it was ... a real treat for me ... next time I might exchange the mustard powder for Wasabi powder I think that could be very awesome too to add the extra kick that the mustard also provided here

Mmm wasabi powder will definitely add a kick too! Try it out next time and see what you think :)

You had the perfect description: elegant and sophisticated! I can imagine the satisfaction one could have with the elements you put together. The colors are wonderful too! Lovely work!

Thank you so much ! I am happy to hear that ...it was a real treat to eat though I would have enjoyed even more to see someone else eat it and get their reaction...maybe next time I make a dish hihi ...

Lovely post you have here.

Thank you so much

I just love scallops and raw tuna like that..hmmm so refreshing!

me too...scallops are my favorite seafood ... and raw tuna

What an awesome combination of flavors and textures - i love your scallop technique - i've never seen anything like it - so delicate! Yum!

Thank you so much ... they are so velvety and beautiful like this ... also great for sushi and sashimi

Congratulations! Yay, I'm sure your daughter is proud of your success in the competition!

Thank you , I think she is proud , she is just wishing I would make more desserts ... with the inclusion of massive amounts of chocolate hihi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52