Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #12: Abstract CauliFlower 5 ways from Sunday

This week of Steemit-Ironchef we got the pleasure to work with cauliflower, now I have to be honest , this is not one of my favorite vegs ... so I knew I had my work piled up on the flavor front in order to be able to taste my own plate ...
I wanted the plate to have an abstract look with splashes of color... sort of I dropped something but still a bit controlled ...
IMG_8311.JPG
My 5 ways of CauliFlower are
**1. CauliFlower slowcooked in milk with Garlic **
2.Creamy sauce of CauliFlower, garlic with a twist of homemade mayo...
3. Teriyaki Marinated CauliFlower Stalks wrapped in bacon
4.CauliFlower Carpaccio marinated in walnutoil
5.Raw lemony CauliFlower Salad

IMG_8308.JPG
**1. CauliFlower slowcooked in milk with Garlic **
had my halfed garlics in milk
IMG_8273.JPG
put part of my CauliFlower to slowcook in milk
IMG_8275.JPG
added the garlic about halfway through
IMG_8290.JPG
when it was done I ran it through a sieve and chose the prettiest pieces for my plate
IMG_8293.JPG
The rest I saved for the sauce
2.Creamy sauce of CauliFlower, garlic with a twist of homemade mayo...
IMG_8294.JPG
Blended it very smooth with a bit of homemade mayo, here I also blended all the garlics, that had been cooked with the CauliFlower in the milk and added salt and pepper and a little cit of sourcream to cut the fat a bit from the mayo ...
3. Teriyaki Marinated CauliFlower Stalks wrapped in bacon
IMG_8276.JPG
I marinated my 4 stalk cuts in Teriyaki sauce for a couple of hours turning them quite often ... also a couple of extra little bush slices that I planned to use for garnishing
IMG_8282.JPG
then I wrapped them in bacon and fried them
IMG_8284.JPG
NomNom... crispy on the outside tender bite on the inside with the neatness of teriyaki flavor ... Umami to me ...
4.CauliFlower Carpaccio marinated in walnutoil
IMG_8277.JPG
Simple as can be ... thin slices of Cauliflower drizzled with Walnut oil and set to marinate about 2 hours
5.Raw lemony CauliFlower Salad
IMG_8285.JPG
springonions
IMG_8286.JPG
freshly chopped basil
IMG_8288.JPG
chopped raw CauliFlower
IMG_8280.JPG
roasted Bell peppers
IMG_8283.JPG
take off skin ... the green ones did not survive this process ... not enough meat on them hehe
IMG_8289.JPG
chop them up and add them to the mix ... I saved a pretty orange slice for my garnish ... it was way to pretty to chop up ...
IMG_8291.JPG
adding chopped sundried tomatoes and black olives
IMG_8292.JPG
mix it well drizzle with a bit of walnutoil and lemonjuice and season with salt and pepper ... voila
On the side
After frying the Teriyaki marinated bacon wrapped stalks, I fried up some quartered brussel sprouts for my garnish...
Ready to plate it up
IMG_8299.JPG
To get my controlled explosion I loaded up a ring with the salad tightly stuffed
IMG_8295.JPG
after removing the ring I placed 3 bouquets of Cauliflower on top and sort of pressed them down to make it fall apart in a more controlled manner ... then I started adding my other elements and garnishings ...
giphy.gif
... and as always here is my proof shot
IMG_8305.JPG
and a closeup of my Controlled Chaos
IMG_8302.JPG
I was pleased with all my elements and also with the taste ... nowhere was there that mushy sad taste of overboiled CauliFlower yikes that I recall from my childhood ... so all together I think I managed to convince myself that I was wrong about not liking CauliFlower ... I am converted lol
I hope you guys liked my ideas for the dish and might want to try some of it out ...
IMG_8301.JPG
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Gorgeous food post. Keep these coming!!

Thank you so much ! I am so happy to hear that you liked it ... and I will try my best to keep them coming ... I love the weekly contest of Steemit-Ironchef makes for a great weekly challenge ...

Maybe the #steemit-ironchef is a good way to cope with some ingredients we didn't like too much until now. I think you succeeded quite well. Wish you good luck. The effort you put in should be appreciated and rewarded in some ways.

Thank you so much, I am glad to hear that ... and yes that is one of the things I like about the contest ... the challenge of the product ... a lot of times it is easy to just use the same as usual ... and not venture into products you normally are not into ... this gives the push to do it , and to try to make the best one can of it !

upvoted-you're killing me with this

Thank you so much ... hope I am killing you in a good way hehe ....

best way there is-slowly and delightful-thanks again

Great ! Are you also entering in Steemit-Ironchef ?

the competition is about a 2 cent upvote?-here you can tell i have no clue about these things-don't really want to compete but rather enrich fellow chefs-and all the entries look pretty stunning-only a lousy camera in my home-my energy and time goes right into the dish but if you advise me to give it a shot i will...-have a delightful week and thank you for reaching out and taking the time ..mahlo

it is not about a 2 cent upvote at all ... it is a really fun and challenging community event and a competition that stretches over a lot of weeks ... the votes does not decide the winners the judge does ... you can see more here https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@progressivechef/steemit-iron-chef-12-contest-now-open-join-to-win-amazing-prizes-grand-reward-pool-already-at-193-sbd-and-growing-each-day

I do it because I like the weekly challenge

Tiene muy buena pinta!
Mucha suerte!!

Cauliflowers in all its state! I am just amazed to see how each week we get to discover such wonderful recipes from contestants like you! Wow!
Each component you made is just perfect!
Beautiful!

Thank you so much ! I am happy to hear that !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52