Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #11: Bellsteak Tatare

This weeks theme Bell Peppers ... I had my idea for the dish right away ... tatare... and yellow velvet sauce... there are 4 Bell Pepper elements on this plate ...I would call it a main, but if made smaller it could be a starter too ....
IMG_8252.JPG
Lets have a look at some of the ingredients
IMG_8220.JPG
Ingredients
red,yellow,green and orange Bell Peppers
garlic
pinenuts
red onion
shalots
goats cheese
sourcream
mustard powder
green chilli
fresh basil
fresh chives
olive oil
butter
couscous
IMG_8226.JPG
roast the yellow and the red peppers whole in the oven, baste with olive oil....the remove the seeds and the skin
Red Bell Pepper Tatare
Chop up your red Bell Pepper meat with finely chopped red onions, a few drops of Worchester sauce and salt and pepper
IMG_8236.JPG
set aside to cool off
IMG_8229.JPG
Yellow Velvet sauce
put you yellow Bell Pepper meat in the blender
add Goatcheese and a spoonfull of sourcream
IMG_8234.JPG
blend til you get an even smooth creamy velvety sauce
IMG_8235.JPG
Sharp Green CousCous
fry thin slices of Garlic
IMG_8223.JPG
after removing your fried slices of garlic
add a bit of butter to the oil and the add and fry your shalots
add this mix to your couscous ... add boiling water too and leave to set ..
IMG_8225.JPG
after the couscous has set and cooled off a bit add finely chopped green bell pepper, spring onions,fresh basil, fresh chives and a small green chilli ,all chopped up tiny...
IMG_8230.JPG
mix up a sourcream with mustard powder ... why sourcream ? because I don't want an overwhelming mustard taste just a hint...
IMG_8231.JPG
now mix that in with your couscous
IMG_8233.JPG
Bell Pepper Salsa
finely chopped yellow,orange and green Bell Peppers,tomatoes(no seeds) and red onion in a bit of olive oil with a few drops of lime
now it is time for plating...
IMG_8237.JPG
the couscous in the bottom
IMG_8238.JPG
thin layer of yellow velvet sauce
IMG_8239.JPG
add the tatare...and finish up with your elements...
Now remove that ring while you believe ....
IMG_8241.JPG
Get the proof shot ...
IMG_8246.JPG
Get a few more shots
IMG_8242.JPG
get a bit closer
IMG_8243.JPG
and a shot of the whole plate
IMG_8249.JPG
...and now come the best part eat it hihi, it was good, I really enjoyed it, though I might have been a bit generous with the green chilli in the couscous base ... but it was nicely balanced by the richness of the red meat and the creamyness of the yellow velvetsauce , the toasted garlick and pinenuts provided crunch and nuttyness and more fresh crunch was added by the salsa a very rounded but still pretty explosive taste experience... and I am quite sure that with the amount of Bell Peppers in this one you will have upped your vitamin C levels considerably ...A dish I will definately be making again, hopefully for some friends that will appreciate it !
IMG_8255.JPG
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Very nice! Seems maybe a little sour-cream-dominated, but it's hard to tell from here. A beauty, in any case!

Thank you so much, the amount of sourcream was very little compared to the rest in the yellow velvet sauce and also in the couscous ... maybe a total of 2-3 table spoons .. but the cous cous there was enough for 6 people and the sauce there was over half a liter ... so it was more a round off

Ohh wow! This looks so good. Congrats on another beautiful looking and yummy plate!

Thank you so much, I am glad to hear that you like it ... you are the first to actually see it besides me... my daughter is visiting a friend for a sleepover and my dad went to bed before I finished ... so this is my first official feedback hehe ...

Lol... they missed out on a beautiful and yummy treat it seems ;)

hihi ... none of them are into something with that many vegs ... lol too exotic ,,, not even a chance that either will taste it ... I get all the yumminess to myself hehe

slightly overcooked dry chicken with boiled potatoes and browns sauce is a hit though... I used to cook ver interesting food before ... but kind of stopped when I had to cook for my dad and my daughter ... this is one of the reasons I love SIC, it has given me back the joy of cooking interesting and different dishes that I love to create ... I mean before there was no reason as noone here will eat it ... now at least I get the joy of others seeing it and getting feedback on my creations... means a lot ... would be even better seeing others eat and enjoy it ... but sometimes I invite friends over ... not often but sometimes ...

Very creative way to use bell peppers! Your dish looks very appetizing!

Thank you so much, I am so glad that you like the way I used the Bell Peppers ... the dish was yummie ... even though it got a huge kick in that couscous ... the small green chilli was stronger than I thought hihi ... good thing that I like a chilli kick ...

This is definitely a five star fine looking dish! Wishing you all the best in this challenge!! :D

Thank you so much, so happy to hear that !

I love everything with couscous! This is very pretty composed - the flavors and the decoration!

Thank you so much ... I am so happy to hear that ... you never know when you have an idea if it will turn out the way you vision it to... and feedback is so great to have to get a feeling if others like the idea too ...

Yes, you are so right! I feel the same.

You are the winner

Oh my ! Thank you so much !

Everything about this dish sounds so yum!

Thank you so much ! I am happy to hear that !

This is such a great creative dish my friend! Wow! You put so much love and effort in this entry!
Would love to taste this lovely plate!

it was so good ... great taste and thank you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28