Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #10: Not Your Usual Potato Soup

Potatoes this week .... I have been waiting for this ... a good excuse to make one of my signature dishes, that a lot of friends and family requests... Potato Soup... this is not your ordinary every day Potato Soup... it is a more On Special Occasions Potato Soup ... also it is not cheap to make ... so also has to be around the first of the month ...hihi
IMG_8212.JPG

Potato Soup Ingredients
shallot onions
1 whole garlic
leeks only the white part
potatoes
jerusalem artichokes
salt pepper
extra virgin olive oil butter
spring onions
Scallops
Salmon Roe
Panceta
double cream
IMG_8163.JPG
some of my ingredients
IMG_8166.JPG
chop shallots,leeks and add the whole garlic
IMG_8169.JPG
sear in butter and olive oil
add potatoes and jerusalem artichokesIMG_8180.JPG
and cover with water
IMG_8174.JPG
prepare your panceta
IMG_8178.JPG
until golden crispy
IMG_8188.JPG
prepare your Scallops ...
IMG_8194.JPG
Drain excess butter
Plate your dish and make it sizzling sexy...
plating.gif
![IMG_8200.JPG]
...a few more pics
IMG_8203.JPG
overview
IMG_8201.JPG
lets get a bit closer
IMG_8204.JPG
never forget the essential proof pic....
To add a bit of crunch I made toaste ryebread with typical danish toppings ... the toasted ryebread gets very crispy
I toasted it in the oven
IMG_8170.JPG
this I did while the soup was boiling...
IMG_8175.JPG
Prepare your toppings
IMG_8189.JPG
toasts
IMG_8190.JPG
load them up... the cream on top of each is a mic of mayonaise and sourcream... seasoned to taste
Toast 1
tomatoes and red onions
IMG_8191.JPG
Toast 2
potatoes and chives
IMG_8192.JPG
Toast 3
Eggs and black olives
IMG_8193.JPG
If you don't like the toppings the bread also goes well without toppings and will provide a good contrast to the soup ...
IMG_8183.JPG
IMG_8205.JPG
So this was my dish with a little danish special added on
We all enjoyed it ... since my dad and my daughter do not believe in moving out of their comfort zones ... there were only Scallops and salmon roe for me hihi .... they have no clue on what they are missing out on ... a real delight of a dish ... the jerusalem artichokes really elevate the potato soup to another level in the taste department ...
IMG_8202.JPG
So happy to be a part of Steemit-Ironchef ... and enjoying my weekly culinary challenge and of course discovering the awesome dishes of my cocontestants !
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Congratulations @globaldoodlegems! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You picked ingredients that work so well together! I understand why this is your signature dish.

Lucky you to have the scallops and salmon roe to yourself! 😜👍🏼

Thank you so much ! Yes... I don't make a huge effort to convince them to taste those two ingredients ... I kind of enjoy having them to myself ...well at lest around my daughter and my dad my friends and other family do love to dig in to the whole dish ... and you are right these elements just work beautifully together

Looks very tasty indeed @globaldoodlegems

Thank you so much I am glad to hear that you like it !

Wowzers! What a decadent and fancy meal! Scallops are one of the most delicious foods I've ever had - and you've got nice big ones there! Wonderful assortment of flavors and textures and an incredible presentation as well. What time is dinner on the first of next month? :)

hihi...you are very Welcome to stop by maybe we could cook up a storm together, your dishes always inspire me ! it is more like a once in a year thing, or if I invite friends over and they all contribute a bit to the shopping expenses ... it was a real treat yesterday ... and the combination of the textures and flavors is just a real party in the mouth ... I guess it is one of my own favorites too ... I can't really grasp that anyone can say that they don't like Scallops lol ( unless of course they are vegan and don't eat anything that was alive at some point, I respect that a lot, and I always make a great effort to cook accordingly to my guests liking ...

My boyfriend made me some potato soup when I had a wisdom tooth removed...if it looked anything like yours, I would have devoured the entire bowl! Great presentation :-)

Thank you so much, I am glad to hear that, the Jerusalem artichokes changes up the taste to more velvety and nutty than your regular potatosoup

Hmmm we really need to make this one during the beginning of the month my friend...so many expensive products in it! Wow!
I still feel you were lucky to be getting to eat all of the scallops and salmon roe!
Great entry as usual!
The little toasts look very nice!

Thank you so much, yes, indeed I was lucky to get all the goodies ... my daughter and my dad did enjoy the soup though ... I think that next time I make it I will accompany it with the blinis that I made of the leftovers ... they can be done with the soup as well ... I think they would fit very well with it ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52