Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #08: Creamy Pumpkin Soup

IMG_8073.JPG
This week was difficult .... as it was very hard for me to make up my mind ... I had so many ideas of what to create ... normally I try to create something very new and out of the box ... in the end this time I opted to make a soup, as I just love soups in the winter time .
IMG_8062.JPG
I also made a puff pastry bread for the soup .... with fresh basil oil, and toasted almondflakes and pumpkinseeds....
Ingredients
Pumpkin Lumina
Butternut Squash
Double cream
smoked Paprika
shallots
butter
a whole garlic
The soup was slow cooked... about 3 hours at very low heat until the pumpkin was almost tender.... then I blended it ...
IMG_8037.JPG
shallots in butter
IMG_8038.JPG
add garlic
IMG_8039.JPG
add pumpkin and butternut squash
IMG_8040.JPG
add double cream
IMG_8041.JPG
season with smoked paprika, salt and pepper (later we will add more tasting )
IMG_8043.JPG
toast almond flakes and pumpkin seeds
IMG_8045.JPG
fresh basil oil seasoned with salt and pepper and a dash of balsamico
IMG_8044.JPG
puff pastry
IMG_8046.JPG
baste with the basil oil
IMG_8047.JPG
sprinkle with almond flakes and pumpkinseeds
IMG_8048.JPG
bake until ready
IMG_8050.JPG
nomnom
IMG_8051.JPG
blend your soup
IMG_8052.JPG
run it through a sieve
then season to taste
and plate
plate_giphy.gif
make sure you have taken a proof pic
IMG_8065.JPG
Bon Appetit
IMG_8062.JPG
IMG_8073.JPG
This was a hearty and wonderful meal on a cold rainy day here in Copenhagen ... the smoked Paprika added to the warmth and heat of the dish and the fresh basiloil added a freshness to the velvet texture of the creamy soup... and the bread was awesome with the lovely crunch of the almond flakes and the pumpkin seeds !
IMG_8063.JPG
Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Yummy....... I want some dearie. It sure looks yummy i hope to try out some soon

Thank you ... it was so good

Love it @globaldoodlegems! Looks so beautiful!

Thank you so much ... I think it turned out quite wonderful ... and I tried to make it look pretty too ... we need to work on the elevating ... I try hard ... in the end I actually thought my puff made it look a bit clumsy... but I need a bit of bread and crunch to go with it ...to make it a more complete dish ...

This is definitely elevated! Love the bread ... I agree it rounded out the dish!

Thank you so much

Yum! And very pretty!

Thank you I am so happy to hear that you liked it !

Awesome! I'd love to try that bread, looks wholesome and delicious

Thank you so much ...it was very lovely and gave a good contrast to the soup ...

Look beautiful

Thank you so much !

I am so impressed with each week that pass by with your entries my friend!
Not easy to make a soup look beautiful but you did it perfectly! Bravo!
Love those pesto dots on the cream soup!
Thanks for being a fervent supporter of SIC!

Thank you so much ! I feel so proud of this one ! ...and I just love taking on the weekly challenge !

Super well done food post, fantastic. I love this idea, I can't wait to try it. If I do, if I can find the time, I'll post about it and link back to your post. Thanks so much for the inspiration. You have a new follower

Thank you so much... would love to hear about it and see it if you find the time to try to make this one ! Super happy to hear that you love my idea and to be able to inspire you ! means a lot to me !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53