Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #05: Pears Nest with pear Gel and Pear salad

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

This weeks dish is a main from me... I had the idea on the day when we got the theme... but was under the weather with a bad cold... actually I still am ... but finally got it done today !IMG_7854.JPG
Pears Nest with pear Gel and Pear salad
there are 3 elements containing pears in this dish...
Pears Nest
Puff Pastry (I used ready made as it usually works well and my energy level was not in a place where I felt like making my own)
IMG_7823.JPG
I build up a 4 layer frame on my base (pasted in between with butter from my red onions caramelising)
IMG_7824.JPG
Red onions balsamico caramelized ( add the balsamic glace when the onions have reached the softness you desire ... on my first batch I added to early and they burnt ... so I had to redo that step...=
IMG_7826.JPG
now you need to fill the nest, in the base you place the red onions
IMG_7827.JPG
then finely sliced pear strips
IMG_7828.JPG
now crumble a strong blue cheese on top ...this is a danish one called Dana Blue
IMG_7829.JPG
then in the oven it goes....
IMG_7830.JPG

Pear & Ginger Gele
IMG_7808.JPG
pretty simple Pear,ginger,a bit of fresh lemon and water
IMG_7809.JPG
bring to a boil, boil until pear is tender about 5-8 minutes...then run it through a sieve ...mash the soft pears through, discard the ginger...
add to a pot again and add a bit of gel powder and boil for 1 and a half minute
then pour in a form on baking paper and cool in the fridge...
IMG_7832.JPG

Pear Salad
IMG_7831.JPG
some salad leaves...
red grapes
cocktail tomatoes
spring onions
fresh pear
wallnuts
fresh lime (I just coat the pear cubes slightly to avoid discoloration)
Danablue blue cheese
Balsamic Glace and walnut oil

Plating
Get your nest out of the oven
IMG_7834.JPG
Place it on your dish
IMG_7835.JPG
add a bit of salad, cocktail tomato, fresh pear and pieces of walnut
IMG_7836.JPG
Get a bit closer to the yumminess
IMG_7837.JPG
looking good...
now I had to cut up my gele it was a bit to thick for the slices I wanted
and place them on top...
IMG_7838.JPG
drizzle with balsamic glaze (I make my own...but there are lots available in supermarkets too... though I guess this may depend on where you live ...)
IMG_7839.JPG
Put on the lid....
IMG_7842.JPG
Garnish with your salad elements and cut slices og Gele
IMG_7844.JPG
...at this point I add walnutoil and balsamic glaze...
IMG_7846.JPG
Don't forget to get your proof pic in there
IMG_7850.JPG
I think that looks quite inviting
IMG_7851.JPG

It was a very tasty and it worked well together ... I do believe I surprised myself on my result in the flavors and textures ... it really worked for me ... my dad hated it but he dislikes blue cheese , hates salads and generally has a strong dislike of trying anything new or different lol.... so I ate it all by myself ... What a treat !
A little slide with additional pics
gig.gif

Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

This was new to me. Thanks a lot.

Oh my lord, that looks phenomenal!

Thank you so much I am happy to hear that !

Garnished well and looking so delicious and mouth watering....😋

Sound realy delicious. Thx 4 sharing it.

Thank you, I am so happy to hear that !

This pear dish looks delicious @globaldoodlegems! Love the flavor combinations.

Thank you so much, the flavors did work really well together, I was happy with the result !

I want to eat.
Looks delicious:)

Thank you so much, it was really delicious !

well done globaldoodlegems!

Wow @globaldoodlegems - this looks amazing

Thank you so much ... it was amazing, it is so nice when an idea from your head pans out as you had imagined it ... and this one really did in regards to the flavors and textures

Congratulations on doing so well @globaldoodlegems

Just soooooo yummy. Great job!

Thank you so much, glad to hear that ... it was really yummy !

So beautiful! I wish I had the time.

Thank you ! this one was really good ... but yes a dish like this does take time lol ... first to come up with ... then refining the idea and the hardest part actually making it with a good result ... but after the first time of creating it the next time it will be easier and faster too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52