Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #04:"Courgette Tower"

This week, I decided to create a main dish, Here is my "Courgette Tower", the dish is build on 4 elements... in all 4 courgette is the main ingredient, Courgette steaks, baked courgette cheese filling, freshly pickled courgette salad and topped off with grilled courgette...
IMG_7781.JPG
Courgette Steaks
IMG_7752.JPG
3/4 grated courgette
IMG_7753.JPG
in a mixing bowl add to the grated courgette
1 egg
finely grated parmasan cheese
breadcrumbs
salt and pepper
IMG_7754.JPG
mix well...
IMG_7755.JPG
I fried them in circles to get the shape I desired, fried in a mix of extra virgin olive oil and butter...
IMG_7756.JPG
carefully remove the circles before turning the steaks over ...
IMG_7758.JPG
Drain on kitchen towel
Courgette cheese filling
IMG_7750.JPG
bake 1 courgette in the oven
IMG_7771.JPG
spoon out the baked meat from the courgette
drain it to remove excess liquid
IMG_7773.JPG
in a mixing bowl mix
goat feta cheese with the courgette meat
add some drops of sesame oil , and a bit of Teriyaki sauce, salt and pepper ...
mix well, or even blend lightly ... make sure it is not too runny ...
IMG_7775.JPG
Pickled Courgette Salad
IMG_7760.JPG
finely dice 1/4 courgette
IMG_7761.JPG
in a bowl add the juice of half a lemon and half a lime and extra virgin olive oil
IMG_7762.JPG
add fresh red chilli thinly cut no seeds and herbs, I added fresh red sorrel and fresh rosemary...and season with salt and pepper ...
set aside to chill....
Grilled Courgette
IMG_7763.JPG
cut uniform long thin strips of courgette
baste with a pit of the juice from the pickled salad with a touch of smoked paprika and grill
IMG_7765.JPG
IMG_7767.JPG
Plating
IMG_7776.JPG
in a cooking ring place in the center of your plate and build layers ... start with 1 courgette steak
IMG_7777.JPG
add your baked courgette cheese filling
IMG_7778.JPG
one more courgette steak
IMG_7779.JPG
one more layer of filling and top off with one last courgette steak...
...add the remaining components to your plate
IMG_7780.JPG
and decorate to your liking
I added a few drops of balsamic glaze ( I always have that handy as I love the taste ...)
Make sure that you take the "proof photo" very important detail here ...
IMG_7786.JPG
make sure you take lots of pics so you can choose your best shots ...
IMG_7787.JPG
..... and dig in to enjoy this dish...
It was an awesome dish and worked with the components textures and tastes exactly as I had planned it out , the crunch of the steaks, with the creamy baked courgette cheese filling with a hint of nut, topped with the grilled courgette strips that gave a touch of smoke, and with fresh spicy acid of the pickled courgette salad...

giphy.gif

Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

Wow! Your dish looks so amazing! And it's very simple! Wish you good luck in challenge :) upvote ;)

Thank you so much, I am glad to hear that !

I definitely want to dig into those. Sounds delicious and looks beautiful @gobaldoodlegems!

Thank you so much ! So happy to hear that you like it !

I hope to taste one of these just soon enough

Thank you ! it was so good ... the dish turned out good and I also think I managed to make it look nice ...

Your courgettes look too good to eat!

Thank you so much ... here there is only the one kind in he supermarket ... no great selection and no flowers ...-

Love your entry! I'm a big fan of courgette but I dont do much with this veggie. Grilled courgette is my fav. Simple yet tasty. Everything in your plate looks soooo yummy :-) Good luck!

Thank you so much , in total I surprised myself with how much I actually got done with this courgette ... but Ipretty much got this idea when I saw the theme so only took me a couple of days to get the ideas clearer

Nice!!!! A lotta work! Crossing fingers for you ❤️

Thank you so much ! I am so happy to hear that ... it was a lot of work ... but the kind I really enjoy, had fun creating this dish ... and I am so happy with the result !

Three stars chef? Another "painting". Beautiful!

Oh ... Thank you so much ! I am happy that you liked it !

Thank you so much, I am honored that you did that !

Woah your balsamic dressing drops are picture perfect! What steady and swift hands! hehe

Love the snakey grilled courgette strip..well done and all the best, @globaldoodlegems! =D

Thank you so much, I am so glad that you like it , and all the best to you too !

Wow! as I read the description i was drooling! Zucchini, feta, sesame, teriyaki, pickled zucchini, chilis and rosemary! this is amazing!

Thank you so much, happy to hear that you found the combination mouthwatering ... it was a real treat ... the dish worked out so well !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46