Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #03: Beetroot Dream dessert ... everything went wrong but the taste ....

Beetroot...that was some challenge...only time I ever cooked with it I made a cold vegan soup for my grandmother...she was a vegan
No 4 course menu this time ... a bit low on money this month ... so I went with minimal shopping and ingredients in my house
IMG_7722.JPG
There are a lot of elements to this dessert ...Beetroot mousse with white chocolate and a hint of liquorice, a lime/orange/beetroot caramelly sauce with chilli, on a base of regular chocolate muffin (I already had the muffins that I made a couple of days ago (wanted to make them with beetroots too ... but had to go with what I had), accompanied by a beetroot sorbet with hints of lime and chilli.
Everything that could go wrong went wrong ... the ice machine didn't work NOTE to self... Become friends with the icemaker thingy... both of my handblenders went down under the fluffyness preassure ... hand whipping eggwhites and cream takes time ... NOTE to self... next time buy a better handmixer ... and train your right arm daily !!!
Here are the Elements...
Beetroot white chocolate mousse with liquorice
Ovenbaked beets(pureed)
double cream (whipped)
eggwhites (whipped)
white chocolate (melted)
liquorice powder
vanilla
sugar
IMG_7700.JPG
Baked peeled beetroots
IMG_7699.JPG
melt white chocolate
IMG_7701.JPG
puree beetroots
IMG_7702.JPG
sieve to avoid lumps
IMG_7705.JPG
ohhh My chocolate is looking yummy... nomnom hard not to test ...
IMG_7708.JPG
beat eggwhites with sugar
IMG_7714.JPG
whip double cream with liquorice powder
IMG_7716.JPG
mix the beetroot puree with the melted white chocolate
IMG_7717.JPG
fold it little by little with the whipped double cream
IMG_7718.JPG
fold in the whipped eggwhites .... and leave to set ... mine didnt set as I have to meet the deadline but I bet it will have set nicely in a couple of hours ... but as we are in different timezones I gotta catch my Zzzzz's and wouldnt meet the deadline if I waited ...
The Beetroot syrup
beetroot ovenbaked
orangejuice ( fresh squeezed)
limejuice (fresh squeezed)
maple syrup
fresh red chilli
sugar
vanilla
IMG_7698.JPG
blend the juices with the beetroot... sieve... reserve half for the sorbet
IMG_7706.JPG
in pot add sugar, maple syrup,chilli and vanilla
IMG_7712.JPG
cool the syrup on baking sheet in your desired shape ... Note to self ... lightly oil the sheet and do this well in advance ... also do make sure you have room for it to set in the freezer lol !
Beetroot Sorbet
beetroot puree ( I used part of the puree with the white chocolate that I used for the mousse)
beetroot juice ( the one I reserved from the sauce)
sugar, vanilla and red chilli meat scrabed of the peel ... no seeds
use your trysted friend the Ice maker .... after about 15 minutes that it wont work give up stir and stir with your already aching right arm until it gets a bit firm in the cold of the icemaker without the machine lid ... luckily Indid a small portion so it did freeze quite well ... before it hardened I transferred to a chocolate mold... to make little cute bite sized sorbet flowers...
Got no pics of this as it was going haywire and I was all over the place ... NOTE to self ... Plan out your steps before you haphazardly attack a dish that still only exists in your head ...
Now Plate....
IMG_7719.JPG
a base of , yes still not very set syrup...
IMG_7720.JPG
Place your cut dark chocolate muffin on your base
IMG_7721.JPG
put your ring form on and pile in you mousse ... carefully remove the form... and enjoy the not set mousse oozing out all over your perfectly planned plate lol ... try to keep a straight face when your 8 year old daughter says "Mommy Please don't cry ! It is not your fault ... it really looks very pretty !!! ( Well kind of was my fault ... could have started earlier lol... But she was very sweet and I did not cry lol
now get that garnished with your sorbet flowers/mint leaves and little silver pearls
IMG_7724.JPG
get a bit close to the oozieness
IMG_7729.JPG
and yes the gellyness on top is nonset syrup...
OK ! SoI did not get the exact vision that I had in mind... But one thing is for sure it tasted so good ... extravagant and sophisticated ... totally out of this world, ... My dad had said when I told him I was making beetroot this week, that there was no way he would eat anything with beetroots in it ...but I guess my daughter bend his heart a bit in her support for my dish and he finally tasted it in the kitchen... yup ... it never made it to the table he ate the whole plate in a matter of minutes and totally loved it ... he was so surprised !!!
...and with this ends my kitchen adventure in the #steemit-ironchef challenge this week
and I dare say even that a lot didn't go my way in it ... it was so far my best tasting dessert ever ...

Loving being a part of this challenge... being creative, experimenting and learning with all of you ! Next time I make this I will nail it !

Check out the awesome @steemit-ironchef this is a great cooking challenge arranged by @progressivechef also please check out the tag #steemit-ironchef to see all the awesome entries from all the talented cooks that have joined this challenge and get inspiration from their wonderful dishes !

Sort:  

great post globaldoodlegems! keep it up! and thanks again for following!

Thank you so much !

Congratulations @globaldoodlegems! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think it's beautiful! You've clearly put a lot of though and effort into this dessert- great work!!

Thank you so much, I was wrecking my brain all week to come up with this, it's been tormenting me since I don't have so much experience with beetroots ... and I am happy about the result... in spite of the mishaps ... and the taste was so good !

That's all that matters!!

yes I think so too ... the best part was seeing my dad actually eat it ... as he is even more refusing of trying new things than my daughter

Awesome presentation and great use of beets. I’m like your dad, I thought I would hate beets but after this challenge I’m learning to really like them

me too... but one thing about this dish,,, everything was beetroot based but it didnt taste like the taste we associate with beetroots at all ...it was very disguised ...

It turned out wonderfully @globaldoodlegems! The creativity in you saved the day! And I believe you when you say it tasted so good.

Thank you so much ! it really did I even surprised myself on the taste ... one of my own big discoveries lol...

Murphy, stop biting our butts! =P

For everything that went wrong, and your aching arms, this dish still turned out rather pretty! The ingredient combos sound outrageous..but awesome! Chilli with your citrusy sauce and licorice with white chocolate and beetroot?!

But it must have worked together amazingly, for your beetroot-hating daddy to be a speedy-eating-fan of your creation. Good on ya @globaldoodlegems! =D

Thank you ... yes the combination of tastes and textures, hot, sweet and fresh were really good ! My dad was very surprised himself ... but he had had a couple of glasses of red wine , and if that had not been the case I really doubt he would have tasted it to begin with lol

That's a very lovely dish and very creative. It looks like you worked really hard on it. I tried to get my husband to taste my beet waffles but he wouldn't do it lol. Glad your dad was willing to try and really enjoyed your dish.

Thank you so much ! I was pleased that he actually tasted it and then even more when he liked it ...

This is a great piece dear. I just followed you from Facebook. Good to connect with you

Awesome ! Thank you ! I am glad you liked it ! it was soo yummie ... Good to connect with you too !

I really think that despite all the problems encountered, the dish look really very yummy my friend! You did so much work in making this one out...wow! Respect!
Btw if next time you feel you will not be ready on time, don't hesitate just send me a message on discord, i'll surely accept your entry even a little late. You are among the serious contestants of my contest, i'll surely understand...i'm not that bad/angry chef anyway!!!

oh thank you.... I wanted to be on time but it just took a long time to create in my head and when my vision was ready it was too late for everything to really set ... but the tastes and combinations were spoton so I surprised even myself ... if I get in that situation again I will be sure to let you know ... I intend to stay in for the long haul here as it really inspires my creative spark and gives me a purpose to cooking what I love ... and inventing new dishes ... this is what I always loved to do ... besides art ... but it is also art just not as tangible as my paintings or drawings I guess !

I am also most of the time creating in my head and then finally near to miss the deadline!Lol!
You are right my friend, cooking and plating is also an art and we can make masterpiece actually!
I'm so glad that you are enjoying the contest so much!

Wow! that sounds so good. Beet with liquorice!

it was pretty amazing and a good combo... also the white chocolate gave it a nice roundness of the taste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52