Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #13: Gardeningchef's Boodles Orange Fool

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

As you can tell by the title, today's post is my first entry for @progressivechef's Steemit Iron Chef contest!! I had been eyeing it up in the food tag since I joined Steemit and when I saw ORANGES were this week's theme I knew I had to enter.

This is a well loved dessert, entrusted to me by my Granny who has made this many a time for me! It is both indulgent and light, the qualities I look for when it comes to dessert.

Boodles Orange Fool requires sponge cake which I baked myself following a simple Victoria sponge recipe. If you decide to bake your own I suggest you do that first, preferably the day before assembling the fool.

As I am lucky enough to have an orange tree in the garden the star ingredient was homegrown! Here is a photo of the finished dish, read on for the recipe!

GCBOF10.jpg

GCBOF2.jpg

BOODLES ORANGE FOOL

INGREDIENTS
4 sponge cakes (I made 1x 8" cake, cut up)
Grated rind and juice of 1 lemon
Grated rind and juice of 2 oranges
2-3oz (50-75g) of caster sugar
1 pint of double cream, halved
Crystallised orange slices, for garnish

I started my dish prep by making the crystallised orange slices. I picked a couple of oranges off the tree, washed them and then sliced them as thinly as I could. I put together a simple syrup in a large skillet, and once it came to the boil and the sugar dissolved I added the slices, making sure not to overlap.

GCBOF3.jpg

GCBOF4.jpg

The slices simmered in the syrup for an hour, turned over every 15 minutes. When finished they were transferred to a drying rack to set.

GCBOF5.jpg

GCBOF6.jpg

To make the orange cream I used a zester to remove the rind from the oranges and lemon, then juiced the fruit into a bowl along with the rind. To that I added 55g of caster sugar, mixing until dissolved and tasting for sweetness until I was happy.

That completed I emptied half a pint of double cream into a big mixing bowl and whipped it until it was thick (NOT stiff), then added the juice slowly into it until the mixture combined well but was still pourable.

I arranged small pieces of the sponge cake at the bottom of my dish, making sure there was only one even layer. Cake in place I poured the cream in and left it to soak in the fridge overnight. If you add too much cake the orange cream won't soak right through, so if you make this keep that in mind!

GCBOF7.jpg

GCBOF8.jpg

This is how it looks the morning after! Well set cream? Check! To finish off the dish I whipped up some more double cream, this time whipping to soft peaks. Piped in as best as possible (I am no seasoned pastry chef!), I garnished with a few crystallised orange slices to complete my dish. Phew!

GCBOF9.jpg

GCBOF10.jpg

And there you have it, my Boodles Orange Fool! I hope you liked this recipe. This is my first time entering a food contest so please wish me luck!

***edit: in my rush to get my entry posted in time I forgot to write the date on my note!! Should read: 30/11/17

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit-Ironchef, awesome first post ! wishing you the best in the competition and hope to see more wonderful entries and get inspired from you in the future !

@globaldoodlegems thank you for your supportive welcome and feedback! :D this is the first of many entries for me, I love cooking and this just gives me more reason to be in the kitchen... what better excuse?!

Wow, wow and WOW.
Where to begin? The photos are absolutely fabulous! The Fool itself looks so amazing I can only begin to imagine how good it must taste. Your friends must be emailing for reservations by now!!! 😂
I wish you the BEST in this IRON CHEF bake off - there is no place for luck though when such professsionalism is on the table!
What an amazing dish for this prestigious competition.
I just googled Boodles and it is a Gentlemans Club near Buckingham Palace in London......see what wiki says......

Boodle's is a London gentlemen's club, founded in January 1762, at No. 50 Pall Mall, London, by Lord Shelburne, the future Marquess of Lansdowne and Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.

Boodle's
Boodle's
Type
Gentlemen's club
Founded 1762; 255 years ago
Founder William Petty, 2nd Earl of Shelburne
Headquarters St James's Street, City of Westminster
London, SW1
The club was originally based next door to William Almack's tavern, in a house also run by him; the club therefore was known as Almack's. It appears to have been formed in opposition to White's (then often called Arthur's): rule 12 as originally drafted forbade any member of Almack's from membership of any other London club, 'nor of what is at present called Arthur's or by whatever Name that Society or Club may be afterwards called, neither of new or old club or any other belonging to it'. In February 1763 this rule was altered and made even more emphatic: 'If any Member of this Society becomes a Member of Arthur's or a Candidate for Arthur's, he is of Course struck out of this Society.' The record book of the new society was kept by Almack as a statement of the terms on which he agreed to provide for the social needs of the members, and it has survived amongst the records of Boodle's. The first entry, dated 1 January 1762, states that 'William Almack has taken the large new House West of his now dwelling House in Pall Mall for the sole use of a Society Established upon the following Rules.' Until 10 February 1762 membership was to be open to anyone signing his name in the book; thereafter election was to be by ballot, which was always to be held 'in Parliament Time' and one black ball excluded; the total membership was to be limited to 250.

Aww that is lovely of you to say @sallybeth23, glad you like the post! It really is delicious, I'll be enjoying some after my lunch today. So zesty and fresh!

Thanks for the info on the origin of Boodles too! Interesting :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gardeningchef to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Well done for an amazing first recipe. I wish you well in the competition @gardeningchef - looks like an interesting dessert. Never realised it would take an hour to crystallise. I'd like to try this recipe sometime - thank you

Thanks @pandamama, and thank you for the well wishes! I have learnt a few new tricks by making this recipe, such as the orange crystallisation that you have mentioned. Please feel free to try the recipe and if you do, let me know :D

I most certainly will @gardeningchef

How I am happy to see your entry in SIC my friend! Lovely dish, awesome post and amazing photography! I am sure you will do very well in this contest in some weeks..
Thanks again for entering!

Thank you so much @progressivechef! Glad you liked my entry :D

Wow really high quality photography. The two oranges with shadows is a striking picture. Boodles Orange Fool looks and sounds delicious as well!
Cheers - Carl

Thanks so much @carlgnash!! I only shoot natural light and it has been a bit of a struggle to get a good photo with the rainy display I've had this week, so it's very uplifting to get such positive feedback on the photography! I can guarantee 100% satisfaction after eating this... you should give it a try!

Wow! once again, fantastic photography! Upvoted and Resteemed!

You are too kind @magiccleatus! Thanks for the upvote and resteem :)

Wow gardeningchef!!
That look SO awesome - what a luxurious and delicious pudding :D

Upvoted, resteemed and salivating!

Haha thanks @icedrum! It is the perfect dessert if you love citrus. Heavenly and light all in one! Thank you for you comment, vote and resteem!

This is a great first Iron-chef post! Love the photos. This dish looks so scrumptious and nothing like using fruit from your own garden!

Thank you @cecicastor I really appreciate your support!
It really is scrumptious - I know I will be making it again! The fresh fruit from the tree definitely made the dish, so tasty and full of orange flavour :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87