Steemit Iron Chef Challenge #2 ....CARROTS....Carrot Apple Salad.

Being Canadian we have an abundance of Apple tree's, and we are currently in the thick of Apple picking season, so I thought it only be appropriate to include apples in my recipe with Carrots for the Steemit Iron Chef Challenge #2. I have chosen to make a family favorite that I make quite often. It is an Apple Carrot Salad. Most of the ingredients can be traditionally found throughout the pantry so no need to take a trip to the grocery store. These apples I picked from a farmer's field. Hope you enjoy my submission.

carrot apple challenge.jpg

As you can see most if not all the ingredients are typical of any pantry. You may substitute the Rice Vinegar for ordinary White Vinegar.

carrot apple challenge 1.jpg

First you must peel the 2 carrots, and chop into small bits 2 medium apples.

carrot apple challenge 2.jpg

Then select a bow and shred the 2 carrots.

carrot apple challenge 3.jpg

Then you add the apples and the 1/4 cup of raisins. The raisins can be substituted for currents, and the apples can be substituted for pears.

carrot apple challenge 4.jpg

Then you add the vinegar and the Mayonnaise, and white sugar.

carrot apple challenge 5.jpg

Mix it all up and serve cold. It makes enough to serve 6 people. Makes a great starter.
The following is the recipe. Hope you enjoy.

2 large carrots, coarsely grated
1 apple or pear, chopped into little bits
1/4 cup raisins or currants
1 tsp. sugar
3 Tbsp. mayonnaise
2 Tbsp. rice vinegar

Happy Trails

Sort:  

I often eat carrot salad - tasty and full of nutrients - but it's first time i see a version with apples and mayo !! Vinegar !! I don t know if i d like it !!

It actually is taste. The sugar off sets the sour taste of the vinegar. You should try it.

I see !! I will definetely try

Wow...sadly 😩@gardengirlcanada I found this submittion quite late but glad I didn't miss it...you my winner and supporting with my 100% upvote.... Keep rocking ma'am ... You the best...

Thank you so much for the support. I just love to cook for my family and why not share my Canadian menu with all you fine folks.

great and hope you invite this steemian someday in future to join a lovely family dinner where i get to enjoy your cooking skills first hand and have some take away's...;) @gardengirlcanada keep doing great and find time to check out my blog posts too... thanks

Will do. Thank you.

Great vitamin salad! Thank you for Your recipe. I will Definitely take your advice.

Good to hear. I welcome anyone to try. My family including my kids love it.

Hello @gardengirlcanada! How i'm happy to see you for the 2nd round of steemit iron chef my friend and this time with a 100% valid entry!
I'm so glad you got it right my friend!
My wife just love this salad, and I do too! It's quite near to a coleslaw but without cabbage.
As you said, eating this salad well chilled is just amazing!
Thanks so much for showing interest in the contest!
Wish you all the best!
@progressivechef

Yes it is amazing. IT is just like the broccoli Sunrise Salad that I also make. Thrilled to be included THIS TIME in the contest.

Hi! I like simple recipes, sometimes I do not have much time to cook.

This is really simple and did not take up a lot of time at all. Great for a busy family.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.12 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice Canadian salad. We used to eat this often in the fall. My Grandmother used to make it for us.

I am actually surprised at how many countries cannot grow apple tree's. Thank goodness Canada can, cause the oodles of recipes with apples would be so lost. Centuries worth and a bunch of family secrets, like apple cinnamon crisp. Thanks for stopping by.

My kids loved apple crisp. It is now the most requested dessert of my grandkids. An apple a day keeps the doctor away. :)

my mum used to make one just like this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51