Steemit Iron Chef 2018 act 01 round 04 : Enchanted Forest

DSC_0063.JPG

So with my 1 spare hour of the week, Steemit Iron Chef took priority...but 1 problem- what to make and how quickly could I produce a result?

Well lettuce is already a tricky thing to work with- can’t be too hot, can’t be too cold...it’s a bit stubborn. The challenges are getting tougher @progressivechef, but I love it!

DSC_0054.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

But in this 1 hour I could think of nothing but soup and salad- so how to pimp these up?! Let’s see...

Enchanted Forest

For the ‘Enchanted forest’ I carefully picked a select range of vegetables- mostly various lettuce breeds- that could be assembled nicely in or on some sort of vesicle, light enough to be lifted by a delicate cream sauce.

DSC_0067.JPG

Iceberg, turmeric and cinnamon cream

DSC_0070.JPG

Iceberg lettuce is a very distinctive tasting lettuce. Quite refreshing but still always reminds me of a McDonald’s happy meal (I’m ashamed to admit!)- but nonetheless, it’s unique taste amongst the leafy lettuce family makes it slightly special. As special as it is, I feel the lettuce was in need of a little kick so a little turmeric and cinnamon in there went a long way. Turmeric seems to be big in the world of hot beverages right now, and it wasn’t until I tried (well was forced to try!) a sweet turmeric and nutmeg milk drink and was pleasantly surprised. That in combination with iceberg? Maybe a little too experimental but it can’t go too wrong...and I was right! Although I did have a 50/50 like to dislike ratio so not too bad!

I heated the cream over a low heat with 1 chopped raw white onion and a head of roughly chopped iceberg. I seasoned with 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1 stick of cinnamon and a sprinkle of salt and sugar (again, didn't know whether to go for sweet or salty!) for 20 mins on the lowest temperature possible.

I then strained the cream before serving.

DSC_0061.JPG

A friend of mine that I’m temporarily staying with in London attends a flower arranging class each week and comes back with a variety so I stole a few for the SIC show!

PS- thanks to my friend's flat mate Rachel for the photography. Not the usual camera or setting, but still a fab person creating a fab photo.

Sort:  

Beautiful dish and Rachel did awesome on the photography my compliments to her and to you for this wonderful creation ...

Beautiful creation once again my friend! I am sure that sweet and salty taste of this cream must be amazing on the palate!
It's always such a nice touch adding some flowers on our plates!

Nice recipe and great photos!

What a wonderfully made dish you created in just one hour! Looks like a clean, interesting soup that could wake up one’s palate before a meal. Well done!

Wonderful photography too! Thanks to Rachel!

From the @cookwithus team: @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79