Steemit-ironchef Act 02 round 08 mini jackfruit 'pulled pork' sandwich

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180727_230515.png

This week's iron chef theme was to create a tiny sandwich. Right now I'm in Indonesia where bread is nowhere to be seen never the less I really wanted to attempt the challenge with some local fruits and vegetables.

IMG_20180728_103152.png

There is one vegan dish I've being dying to try but not yet managed to which is 'pulled pork' made with the young jackfruit. So my friend Adi climbed a tree and grabbed some of his jackfruit for me.

IMG_20180727_223908.jpg

This recipe is created by using barbecue sauce here are the ingredients I used to make my own version of the sauce.

One Kilo tomatoes
One pinapple
Five gloves of garlic
Two hot chili's
Hand full of peanuts
Juice of some limes
Sour honey made from mahogany tree bees
(not strictly vegan but the only ingredient I have access too for a sweet sour taste) you could use apple cider vinegar and a sweetener instead.
Two red onions

I also photographed cumin but I decided to use tandoori spice instead because it has cumin and that smoky flavour you get in barbecue sauce.

IMG_20180727_223819.jpg

I mixed all the ingredients except the red onions into a food processor until a pureed consistency.

IMG_20180727_224012.jpg

Next is to prepare the jackfruit. Its very sticky, so you will need to use a knife that you don't mind sacrificing as you won't get the stickiness off. Thankfully my friend's wife prepared it for me with a machete, as I don't think I could have managed it myself. The machete leaves these black marks so I cut these away after myself and into smaller chunks.

IMG_20180727_140241.jpg

IMG_20180727_223727.jpg

Next is to sautée the onion in a pan of oil, I used coconut oil. Then add the sauce and cook for 30 minutes allow to cool.

After that you can marinade the jackfruit in the sauce and put in the fridge for an hour. I don't have a fridge here but I rested in a cool box instead.

IMG_20180728_095521.jpg

Then it needs to be cook for a further 30-40 minutes and leave to rest, then you can start pulling apart the jackfruit with 2 forks so it makes the stringy pulled pork texture.

IMG_20180727_230606.png

To create the sandwich I decided to use purple sweet potatoes slices fried in coconut oil and sprinkled with himalaya salt. I also lated pineapple slices and a cabbage and papaya slaw, served with pineapple chili and peanut chutney.

IMG_20180727_230724.png

Sort:  

So, so beautiful! I can buy organic canned jackfruit in the food section of a german drugstore. I am going to try this out definitely. And the idea with the purple potatoes is just amazing!

Beautiful presentation! i haven't eaten jackfruit, what does is the flavor? Pulled pork, love it!

Young jackfruit and the mature jackfruit are very different and there are a few different kinds of jackfruit out there as well. The mature fruit is sweet with strong smell, it is softer but still is chewy like the young jackfruit. The young jackfruit it used for this recipe and needs to be cooked. It's a great faux meat because of its texture and ability to absorb the flavour of the sauce. I really recommend trying it, I think it's possible to buy it canned which solves the preparation problem but I have no idea if it still the same as the fresh fruit but I have seen the canned used in Jack fruit recipe just make sure that its not in sugar water.

I have not found jackfruit that I can afford but I'm dying to try it. This looks amazing and the presentation tells it all!

Thank you! Im very lucky because this jackfruit was free! But I think they sell canned jackfruit up where you are no idea how much they price it at. Hope you get to try it one day soon!

I can buy frozen Jackfruit and I havn't found the canned stuff but they say it's around. I can get a jackfuit product but it is super expensive. I might just splurge once to see what it's all about.

Best bet is to travel somewhere with fresh one I reckon. Hopefully u will get the chance to do it soon!

Oh my dear! It looks so much like pulled pork I am amazed how creative your dish is, it suits to anyone regardless to their diet! How did the texture and flavours came out? does it really mimic pulled pork? Awesome entrance , I am thrilled with your dish, is a bang on one! love it ♥♥♥

It's a perfect faux meat, because it natural and no need to process it. It absorbs the Flavour and has a chewy texture, for me it's better than pork!, can't wait to make it again.

Well the recipe looks good. Would have to try it to see if my taste buds approve of it haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99