Steemit Iron Chef final round: Beach dream fig and custard apple ice cream cheese cake

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180908_144946.jpg

This week's challenge is a dish for the beach! One of my favourite places to be, I love the sea air and that's exactly why I live here on the coast of catalonia. Last week I was just in langkawi where there are some gorgeous beaches but also some not very nice ones with plastic trash washed up. Lots of trash is dumped into the sea regularly and I even saw people leaving there plastic picnic containers on the rocks and beach for the sea to wash it. Its a hot topic and big problem right now.

IMG_20180908_143946.jpg

I only just got back and that's why I'm a little late posting these. I managed to smuggle back a few exotic frutos with me like this custard apple, star fruits, passion fruit and rambutans cousin (a fruit that looks and tastes a bit like rambutans but not sure what it's called) . The figs I picked up from the local market here yesterday.

IMG_20180908_144028.jpg

I had been travelling around with these gorgeous javenese dates, waiting for a chance to use them in something special, something like this beach dream cheese cake, to take me back to those beautiful white soft sand beaches.

IMG_20180908_144102.jpg

Don't get me wrong the local beaches here are nice too but the sand is small pebbles and just doesn't quite have the dream beach vibe. Anyway back to the recipe, with the dates I added sunflower seeds, almonds, coconut shaving, cranberries, honey, tahini and blended it all together

IMG_20180908_144139.jpg

Then I added lucama powder, carob and coconut oil and blended further until all combined.

IMG_20180908_144327.jpg

I poured into a lined contained and pressed and squished down with the back of a spoon. Popped in the freezer until solid.

IMG_20180908_144406.jpg

I had pre frozen the custard apple and made a coconut cream with coconut flour, I blended the 2 to make this creamy cheese cake filling.

IMG_20180908_144538.jpg

I spread half the mixture over the base and popped back in the freezer.

IMG_20180908_144605.jpg

Next I blended gogo berries into a powder and added the starflower to make this amazing orange jam filling. I added it to the container, popped back in the freezer and added the next layer of cheese cake filing.

IMG_20180908_144721.jpg

The sliced the figs and arranged on top, freeze a bit longer and slice into fingers. AND Omg its been so long since I've been able to make a desert like this to enjoy. Not having a proper kitchen and limited equipment, I've been staying basic and practically fruitarian but now I have the chance to enjoy a delicious and healthy desert, I can even take it to my local beach, if I haven't already gobbled it!

IMG_20180908_144849.jpg

IMG_20180908_142046.jpg

IMG_20180908_145108.jpg

IMG_20180910_193612.jpg

Sort:  

wow🍰 what a great recipe😊

That seems yummy

Looks so delicious...wish I could have a slice...

Wow, that is a pretty looking dessert ❤️

This looks so lush! Delicious
Curious to know what is lucama powder?

Hi I spelt it wrong it's lucuma everything you need to know about it here it adds a little sweetness plus amazing health benefits https://www.google.es/amp/s/www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/what-is-lucuma/amp/

I definitely plan to make these! Beautiful @celestialcow!!! So rich, totally satisfying :)

Hope u managed to try out, let me know how it went :)

Such a fancy looking cake, looks something like I would go for in a cafe! 😋 There aren't a lot of beaches here where I live, but I've read and heard about that trash problem too. It's quite discouraging to hear people not caring about the environment when you're trying to do your very best to contribute...
Anyhow, beautiful photos of a delicious cake, good job @celestialcow! 👏

Thank you so much for your lovely comment ❤️, I totally agree we must keep trying non the less
👍

Oh wow I am amazed by your creativity and delicious recipe and cake!! OMG wish I had one bite right now! You know how I love these figs on top;)
xxxx

Ah yeah, another incredible edible food creation. Loving the way you're decorating the tops here–I've never seen such beautiful figs. "Beach Dream" seems like just the right name for such a delicious-looking dessert.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. They name came from the contest to create out ultimate beach treat
😊

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77