Steemit Iron-Chef: Berrytastic Semi-fredo : DO YOU KNOW WHAT BERRIES ARE?

berry14.jpg

Thanks to this weeks steemit iron-chef challenge i learned something fascinating! Berries are very illusive, there are many things that are berries that you would not believe! And many fruits named berry are not actually berries at all!

So Strawberry's and raspberry's are berry infiltrators! And would you believe melons and cucumbers are the real berry deal?

Botanically speaking, a berry is a simple fleshy fruit produced by a single ovary. Some examples are avocados, bananas, blueberries and grapes.
https://scientiaandveritas.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/pomes-and-berries-and-drupes-oh-my/

I was shocked to say the least but it gave me inspiration for my entry to this weeks competition.

berry13.jpg

Ingredients for Semi-Fredo

Iced banana + Avocado (whipped into a cream)
Iced banana + Maqui Berry Powder (whipped into a cream)
Blueberry's
Almonds
(whipped together and frozen)
Thaw before serving

Garnished with blueberry puree

berry11.jpg

Bananas and avocados are some of my favorite foods I spent around 20 euros on them for my weekly food budget, because they are so versatile for so many recipes in the kitchen, it's great to find out they are actually berries after all!

Maqui berry is a wonderful super food I just discovered and actually is much more powerful in antioxidants than blueberries, all the more reason to gorge on this delicious, healthy desert!

Thanks again to @progressive-chef for running this contest + @donkeypong, @canadian-coconut and @sjennon for supporting the contest

Sort:  

Outstanding post @celestialcow! Yummy looking! I did learn a lot this week about Berries and shared a little summary of it on this weeks post too... looks like we been doing the same studies☺! I found it fascinating... ❤Loads of blessings love and light❤

Looks great! So interesting to learn more about some of my favorite "berries". I love avocado, so I like any excuse to eat more of them! 😋

This looks absolutely gorgeous.

You're a really talented chef.

Gotta try this recipe as well.

I assumed that avocado could be a berry but never really tried to find out. I am surprised about the banana! Thank you for the informative article and the delicious recipe!

Such an inventive semi-fredo, will defo be making this!

This really looks gorgeous @celestialcow, must have been delicious! I was also amazed to learn of all the fruit that are classed as berries, would never have thought that!

Wow that's so interesting! I had no idea cucumber is a berry! I also never heard of Semi-Fredo before. It looks amazing, I'm sure the taste is delicious!

My mother and me used to go up the mountain to collect berries and then she would make jams and lots of other things with them; she had a whole freezer full of things made with berries...

What a delicious and super healthy treat my dear!!

Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe and the interestings facts about berries - wow ♥ I included your deliciously looking semi-fredo in my "best of" here https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-14 Have a great week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61498.89
ETH 2962.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49