STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 08 | Balsamic Fig Tapenade with Pesto and Goat Cheese | Vegan

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0154 (2).jpg

Good day fellow Steemians ! This week @progressivechef has challenged each of us to make a ...

Tiny Sandwich!


Before I begin I would like to first thank @progressivechef for hosting the Iron Chef Challenge. This is a great opportunity for all of us who enjoy creating and sharing food we love to make. This is Act 2 of his Challenge, Round 8! I am certain we will indeed see some masterpieces!


Having raised a family with very active daughters a tiny sandwich would never have satisfied our hungry crowd! But now, I welcome this challenge! I decided I wanted to include multiple layers of flavor into this tiny sandwich, I hope you’ll enjoy!


todaysjourney.jpg

The Balsamic Fig Tapenade with Pesto Goat Cheese on Foccacia Bread

To Make this Tiny Sandwich I Used…

Garlic Herb Focaccia Bread

  • Olive Oil
  • Minced Garlic
  • Dried Oregano, Basil, Cayenne Pepper, Sea Salt
  • Gluten Free Flour
  • Baking Powder
  • Sparkling Water
  • Maple Syrup
  • Black Olives (pitted)

I felt we just had to use fresh bread, something with an Italian flair!


DSC_0046 (2).jpg

Balsamic Fig Tapenade

  • Dried Figs
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Rosemary, Thyme, Cayenne Pepper
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Salt and Pepper

The figs really work well with the vinegar and spices, not too sweet!


DSC_0047 (2).jpg

Walnut Pesto

  • Spinach
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Walnuts
  • Lemon Juice
  • Sea Salt
  • Cayenne Pepper

Pesto add such a nice texture and nutty flavor!


DSC_0073 (2).jpg

Also...

  • Vegan Goat Cheese
  • Sliced Cucumber
  • Sliced Carrot
  • Shredded Beetroot
  • Roasted Cherry Tomato slices

Let’s Assemble!

1st layer

  • Apply a thin layer of Goat Cheese, top with Balsamic Fig Tapenade

DSC_0069 (2).jpg


2nd layer

  • Apply a thin layer of Pesto, top with roasted tomatoes
    DSC_0082 (2).jpg

3rd layer

  • Fresh crunchy veggies!

DSC_0074 (2).jpg


I layered my sandwich with Veggie layer on bottom, Tapenade and Goat Cheese in the middle and Pesto and Roasted Tomatoes on top!


DSC_0137 (2).jpg

This was fun to prepare! So many different flavors and textures, I hope you’ll try it!

DSC_0131 (2).jpg

Thank you again @progressivechef for another great week of Iron Chef!

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

It's making me really hungry, you are right these tiny sandwiches aren't enough to satisfy hunger!

I know right? However I must say, this one went to Mr. Bird and he said it was a lot! (and he loved it of course, lol) You are sweet to stop by, thank you!

I have to try this one! I needed a new recipe for my figs. I have now discovered I have 6 fig trees rather than the 5 I thought I have. No problem. We like figs!

Oh yes, do try it! Really tasty, sweet, tart and spicy all in one sauce, pared with the goat cheese....yikes! So jealous, you have fig trees???? Wow, that is wondereful :) Did you see my fig bar post a while back? Those are addictive lol

I have tried them! They didn't last long with the crew here! LOL

Looks so delicious. I love pesto

Thank you! So do I, it pared well with the fig tapenade and goat cheese! :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-25T23:30:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 583.25/200.00
Total Photos: 93
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.88 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57