STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 02 Round 06: Vegan Sushi

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago

Vegan Sushi

IMG_8046IMG_8046IMG_8046IMG_8046_1.jpg

Sushi

Refers to food that uses rice seasoned with vinegar. It is then rolled in seaweed layers with seafood, fish, vegetables, etc.
For this recipe I exchanged seaweed for chard! I don't eat seaweed due to the amount of micro plastics, radiation and mercury found in the oceans nowadays. The fish industry is highly processed and messed up unfortunately, and most of the documentaries about the seaweed industry are banned! It is not local to me either so for all these reasons I ditched from consuming seaweed.
If you are interested in digging into it, I will leave a batch of links below:

Hints in:

Pollution in food industry:

Are Microplastics in Our Water Becoming a Macroproblem? | National Geographic
Microplastics are everywhere | Sarah Dudas | TEDxBinghamtonUniversity
Are You Eating Plastic for Dinner? | Short Film Showcase

Fish industry:

TROUBLED WATERS - DOCUMENTARY ABOUT IMPACTS OF OVERFISHING. (2015)
Sick Fish Farms High Risk of Spreading Diseases / HD Documentary / Discussion

Seaweed:

Is Seaweed a Healthy or Harmful Superfood ?? on a Raw Food Diet

Seaweed Good news:

Sucking Up Seaweed? | Wild Japan | BBC Earth

Recipe

IMG_8024IMG_8024IMG_8024IMG_8024_1.jpg

Sweet Chilli Sauce:

  • 1/3 cup of water
  • Half 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • Half 1/2 cup of raw sugar
  • Pinch Sea Salt
  • 1 chilli pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 Boiled potato
  1. Blend all.
  2. Place in a saucepan and let it simmer on low heat.
  3. Mash the potato and slowly add, whisk until it thickens.

sweetchillisauce.jpg

Guacomole:

  • 1 avacado
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon of blackpepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  1. Blend all.

IMG_8029IMG_8029IMG_8029IMG_8029_1.jpg

Others:

  • 1 cup soaked brown rice
  • Chard leaves
  • 1 stick of celery
  • Onion
  • 2 tablespoons of Tamari
  1. Cook the rice and steam the chard leaves.
  2. Thinly chop celery and onion.

In the making…

Layers: chard, rice, guacamole, celery. Roll it and plate it, serve it with sweet chilli sauce, lime, thinly sliced onion and splash tamari!

inthemaking.jpg

Y U M M Y

IMG_8047IMG_8047IMG_8047IMG_8047_1.jpg

Thank you all for taking your time to read. Highly recommended!

I want to highlight @progressivechef, who initiated this competition and also the following steemians: @donkeypong,@canadian-coconut and @sjennon, they have been supporting this competition.

Blessings, love and light!

Sort:  

This sushi is really creative and sounds delicious and appealing. I like how you interpreted it with local products. Very nice!
(and now I feel bad about the seaweed in my sushi I made today 😝 - going to post it tomorrow I guess)
I wish you all the best for the contest! 🍱

Chard and guac are 2 of my favorite things... now I can eat them together!

you are so important in this cooking journey! thank you for being by my side and tasting all the dishes. love and light♥♥♥

Really very creative this entry my friend! And thanks a lot for the different links shared!

Thank you so much @progressivechef! It is very much inspiring receiving a comment from you. I Very much appreciate your time, support and the awesome SIC series!

Thank you so much @pusteblume! The encouraging and supporting words coming from you, who I have so much admiration, means a lot! lots of light and love ♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74