You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01 : Wild Oregon Myrtle Tomato Soup

Happy to see you back on steemit! Missed your wild dishes. Another beautiful entry. Though Oregon Myrtle doesn't grow here I'm sure we can find something else to make this lovely soup. My hubby love tomato soup!

Sort:  

Thanks for the welcome back, @amy-goodrich! Oregon Myrtle has such a unique fragrance and taste. I wonder what's the closest you have around you. You have so many tropical plants that are unique! A Thai basil would probably be really great!

Though I love basil (Italian and holy basil) Thai basil is not my thing! I have said this before but I need to put some more effort in learning my tropical edibles... I'm always so scared to eat something poisonous over here... hospitals are not so good. So you better know what you are eating hehe. Going to Europe in a week so I'll see if I can find the Oregon Myrtle there. You made me curious to smell and taste it!

If you find any Oregon Myrtle in Europe, I'd love to know. I'm really curious how well known or used this plant is. I appreciate your dilemma in learning tropical edibles. There are so many different tropical plants -- including toxic ones. It makes foraging in the temperate zone seem easy!

Moving back to the jungle in just a few months.... eager to do some research. Gonna look for a decent guide of this region. If I can find Oregon Myrtle in Europe I'll def let you know. Have a lovely Sunday.

Good timing in moving back during the winter, lol. I'd like to know what guidebook you find for Cambodia -- the jungle seems so mysterious to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34