Please Add Vote Power Percentage to Steemit (Feature Request)

in #steemit-ideas8 years ago


Anyone else find themselves needing to go to the Esteem app, Steemd.com, or some other place off the main site just to view their own (or someone else's) vote power percentage? I may be alone on this, but I like to keep an eye on my own percentage, not letting it get too low, since I can go on voting sprees at times. I also periodically take a look at someone else's vote power (admittedly usually whales) to get some idea on if/how much they vote (or lend it to voting guilds, trails, etc.)

Anyway, my point here...can we please just have a small little meter or even just a number on the actual Steemit.com UI to display our voting power percentage. It wouldn't take up much room, I know the data is already available since it's a part of other sites. It could easily be placed in the 'profile portion of the blog' with a simple example shown below.

Often for new people, they ask questions on what they see on the site. Adding the VP% in would get them asking that question, which leads into many important aspects like how $ is given in posts (beyond just the SP aspect) as well as on curation rewards.

I did go ahead and make a github request for this, just to at least get it asked for.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.




Image Sources:
Percent Scale

Sort:  

Great idea. Seconded. I've just been using SteemVoter to determine mine in real time, so this would be incredibly helpful.

TY! 'Should' be a minor tweak to the UI that would provide a lot of benefit. :)

On a separate note, I hope to make it down to the ozarks steemit meetup too!

I hope you can be there! I'm so looking forward to it.

Great idea

would save me an open window. But i'd rather see it in different spot.

good idea! ^^

Over time (imo) there's huge benefit to consolidating things into the main site. While for many of us it's not a big deal, it does make onboarding way easier, with many people being somewhat put off and seeing it as 'more complicated' when they have to go to a bunch of different sites. Just my take there and definitely not trying to do away with the tools people have made, nor saying to consolidate everything (the real time vote list being an example of something that could be kept off site.)

I'm definitely open to the actual placement and style of the VP display. I played with it in corners and a few others, that just where it landed for me. I'm happy to see the communities/dev's preferences there, I purely want the functionality myself. :)

Agreed. Regardless where it's located on the page somewhere would be beneficial.

You make some good points! Going to check my voting power now...

Thank you. It's definitely a useful thing to keep an eye on. Especially if you are like me who goes on voting binges. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.56 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hands up and agree. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42