Additional Input on "voting pop up slider" to be able to add precise values!

in #steemit-ideas8 years ago (edited)

Just noticed the new "great" % voting option slider!

edit: thx to jesta // Slider visibility </= 100M Vests worth (~35k SP)

It's a really needed feature and over the day testing and playing around with, i began to think, it could be also good to have an additional input field .. to be able to use more precise values .. maybe it's just me, but to enter an exact value like for example 40% isn't always easy, at least for me. Maybe the devs could take this into consideration for the next updates- just as an idea .. look at me prepared example - (there are just rough sketches)

before

beforeb4c31.png

after

afterdde1a.png


Let's discuss if this could make sense - your feedback is worth something :)
Thanks for taking your time reading my post & happy steeming

Sort:  

I had considered implementing this while I was working on it, but the goal for this first release was "simplicity". Originally it was also the 1-10000 value.

Some additional ideas proposed:

  • Allow setting of the "default weight" in a preferences panel on your account. This would allow you to set it at 50%, which it would always default to (or whatever you want as a default).
  • Using the same preferences panel, controlling whether or not the slider popped up by default (to prevent having to click twice) or if you could just vote with your default voting weight (from the above preferences).
  • Showing the current percentage next to the voting button.

Glad you're finding it useful though!

thx for your additional proposed ideas and yes, this makes totally sense to me :) If u would be ok with, i would add it to the bottom post section with credits? what do you think?

Sure, more than welcome! Some of these ideas have also taken place on issue 91 on github as well, if you're looking for more :)

Hi Summon,

i think its great, because now whales are able to vote on posts, they might have skipped. for example you dont want to give someone 150$, but you think 50$ is ok, so set your powers to 30%.

i think the issue is, that whales do have limited time, so i dont know if every whale will make more votes now.
but we have to just watch and see ;)

how much steempower do you need to get the slider?

100M Vests worth (~35k SP)

jesta , send me 25K so i reach that milesstone ! ;)

good to know (I'm still far from there) thanks

Having more Sp maybe over 20k and also your % voting matters as well. Just dropping by and letting you know your in my latest book I am working on. Might want to pop in to check it out.

Weird I can't see it? Maybe I don't have enough SP for it to work?

Very interesting, very user friendly.

I love your proposal. It make sense and is easy to implement.

I can't really comment because I don't see it. My educated guess is that only those with SP above or around 2750 can see it.

It might also relate to how much % voting power you have available. If it is too low you might not see it. Mine is currently 23% because I vote a lot.

This is a new approach. You could be right. At the time I have 86.940% Too much clicking :)

OK, I'll see in the morning when my voting power will be up again. Maybe then the slider will pop up.

Thanks!

Thx for helpful information.

Why not make it digital?
It wil be horizontal rather then Vertical, a person would enter the number he wants to vote in in % and Voila!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51