IDEA - Blockchain Camera

in #steemit-ideas8 years ago

How to reliably authenticate an artist’s work.


Problem

When an anonymous person uploads a photo onto Steemit I don’t upvote. Even if the picture is glorious, I have no way to know if it’s authentic. Since it’s possible to pass off someone else’s work as their own, the photographer who actually takes the photo has no way to prove it belongs to them.


Furthermore, if I want to personally reuse the photo, I could never be sure I’m not violating the copyright on someone else’s work.


Solution

A camera that had the capability to communicate with a blockchain in real-time, and has a unique cryptographic identity on that blockchain, could solve the problem. Then the photographer could simply sign into the camera with their private key similar to a multisig address.


Every picture taken would be verifiable with a timestamp and the credentials of the photographer. A hash of the photo can be stored via IPFS and the photographer is then free to upload their original content to Steemit with the hash. They would also have the option to grant a public license for the reuse of the photo by others.


Now everyone who views the photo is free to upvote and pay the artist for their work.

Is my thinking correct on this? Has it already been done?

Sort:  

this isn't entirely new, there is already a coin trying to bring something like that (registering a photo through the blockchain, then applying for copyright), as it isn't equivalent to a copyright, and a photo to be fully protected still need to apply for a copyright

Proof of picture. Me-likey.

The idea is not bad. Now there are digital cameras that put the mark of GPS. Maybe some vendors in the future decide to be programmed this function.
I think it is easy to implement. The only question is to which blockchain record. If the Steemit decides to fund it, it can record at once get into it blockchain.

I'm all for this one. Artists need to come together to protect their IP. Brilliant concept.

good idea

Great idea. Now u need to pitch to canon.

An intermediate solution might be to create a way to upload to a blockchain.

For that I would need a team to help. Unfortunately, I don't have the technical skills to design and build it.

It's a great idea...the problem with the Net in general is most of us use(share) other people's work all of the time...(I admit...I am guilty of it)...But a good way to protect 'intellectual property' will eventually be found...(I hope)

Well the irony is that I don't actually support the idea of intellectual property. My idea for a blockchain camera is to protect the artists ability to say, "Yes, this work was definitely created by me." That way someone else can't commit fraud by claiming credit for it. But that doesn't mean I don't think an artist shouldn't get paid for their work.

But as a philosophical point, if you put something abstract (i.e. non-physical) out on the internet, like a song, story, or picture, then it ceases to be property. It doesn't mean there no value in the thing, it just means there is nothing to steal. Also, it's more difficult to give proper credit where credit is due if the thing isn't tangible.

This, of course, is a much bigger conversation that probably deserves I full article by itself. Plus, I realize that what I just said sounds very strange to most people and is probably fairly controversial.

You are right, some work has already been done: https://www.gipp.com/wp-content/papercite-data/pdf/gipp2016a.pdf. More related to time-stamping though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46