[Steemit Hunt] Everipedia - Wikipedia and Reddit had a baby

in #steemit-hunt8 years ago (edited)

Everipedia is a crowdsourced link, comment, and knowledge aggregator.

Background

Wikipedia has a limited number of contributors and topics. I once tried to create my own Wikipedia entry and got denied. Everipedia allows anyone to contribute and anyone to have their own page. It's much more inclusive than every content aggregation platform that has come before it.

Why would you want to use it?

Learn information about anyone, or create your own page for anyone or anything.

I think the one thing that it's missing right now is incentives for contributors. Right now, people are contributing out of altruism or their own personal interest. Earning something of monetary value (e.g. STEEM) would be a great way to create more engagement on the platform.

What are some new products that you love? Hunt them on here with the tag #steemit-hunt


  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Hear about why I'm excited about Steemit here
Sort:  

Hey dudes!! I am one of the Everipedia cofounders - I am so honored by Nick's post! - please message me on fb or email me at [email protected] if you're down to get involved!

It's an honor to have the best community manager since Caterina Fake of Flikr on here!

Good idea !
Anarchists will love it ;)

Can you explain us how the Steem engine works in the articles validation ? Same as on steemit where people will vote for articles or updates ?

Also, have a look at this SCREEM initiative: It's a steemit powered twitter alpha release.
LINK on Steemit podcast

Note: I love your wikipedia idea, I mentioned you in the comments of the aforementioned thread.

Thanks.

To be clear, Everipedia is not currently using Steem- it's just an idea :)

Great article Nick! I'm a founding team member at Everipedia and I think it would be a great possible addition to the site.

Thanks man. You guys should totally do an #introduceyourself on here. I think it would get a lot of love.

Yes! I'm working on the iOS side for Everipedia, and I joined the site in beta! Micro-transactions are something that really interest me. People sometimes just want to spend cash for the sake of spending, and throwing a few pennies at the writers of good articles could really empower the content creators.

The powerful thing about Steemit is that content creators are paid directly from the blockchain (consumers aren't paying for content directly). In other words, the money being earned on posts doesn't come directly from the pockets of people, it comes from the money supply from the Steem blockchain.

The original sin of the Internet is that ads are the business model and consumers get everything for free. So far, consumers have demonstrated that they are irrational when it comes to spending money for content and even if its micropayments, they don't really want to pay for content directly. This could change if the UX gets super simple and something like Bitcoin enables small payments. But I think Steem is a fascinating experiment because people are actually earning thousands of dollars for posts by earning money directly from the blockchain.

Great idea. /Link on Twitter is not working/.

thanks, updated!

haha ... you write less well :D

less well than...?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78