Use Those Minnow Voting Bots on Day 6 Instead of Day 1 - My Reason is . . .

in #steemit-help7 years ago (edited)

If you are using any of the voting bots, whether it be @minnowsupport or @randowhale or however many there are to choose from, here's an experiment you may like to try.

Instead of using it on Day 1 of your article why not use it on Day 6!

But why, you might ask? What difference does it make?

Well, we all know that most votes on an article take place within the first 24 hours. We also all have the experience of seeing our total earnings for an article slowly drift downwards during the subsequent days. A lot has been written about this effect - this very recent article by @biophil has a good explanation. Yes, it is affected by the market price of Steem. Yes, it is affected by the total reward claims increasing while the reward pool is decreasing.

(In my opinion, there is now a case for changing the formula that generates rshares, but that's another issue and for another time.)

So, rather than watching your earnings decrease every day, use those voting bots on Day 6. In that case, you will only see a decrease over one day rather than the whole seven days.

Try it! And let us all know if it works!

And remember, no strategy works for ever. Once a new equilibrium is reached or the price of Steem rises consistently, this technique may no longer be effective.


Other recent articles:

Steemit, Neo and the Architect - the Solution to an Anomaly

Lissajous Curve I

Automatic Related Posts Engine In Article Footer [Development Concept][Devs Wanted]

Time to Have Advertising on Steemit? It May Increase Your Earnings. What Do You Think?

Sort:  

Totally agree ! Great idea, thanks for sharing

Thank you! As the first to comment you get a special upvote!

I've been experimenting with this. I picked two posts that I had made -- one that got some modest exposure and one that has basically gotten zero exposure. For the post with no exposure, I summoned the minnowsupport bot after a few hours, and as of now (with 2 days to go before payout) there's been about a 17% decay. For the post that did get exposure, I summoned the bot on day 6 and ended up with less than 10% decay when it paid off.

I do think though, that the same rules and considerations go into summoning any upvote bot, whether that be randowhale or a minnow bot. Summon early and you risk higher decay but you may get additional exposure and the benefit of the "tip jar" effect. Summon late to lock in a low-risk, low-exposure payoff.

Yes, the momentum gained and further votes may add more than any value-decay.
It's like people prefer to wait at a busy restaurant than walk into an empty one.

Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

An update on the post with no exposure and awaiting payout... the final decay was just under 30%.

In this case, that 30% drop can be attributed to the drop in Steem price. Thanks for the update.

How do you summon the minnowsupport bot? I haven't heard of this.

By using it, via PALnet on Discord. Once you've completed the registration process for PALnet, you can access a channel where you command the bot to upvote your post. Then the bot does it thing (and you'll get a lot more than just the 2 bots' upvotes), and you'll see a message saying the Minnow Support Project was involved and who used it on your post. Since we're here on @rycharde's page, I'll link to his most recent use of the bot that I could find:

https://steemit.com/chainbb-suggestions/@rycharde/please-add-music-forum-on-chainbb#@minnowsupport/re-rycharde-please-add-music-forum-on-chainbb-20170710t040234562z

Thank you!!

Very interesting strategy. So far I have used the bots in order to push myself into the hot category. Since there are no other means of promoting your post (except the useless promote button and all the jungle of discord and steemit chat channels) this was really helpful to get noticed. But I will try this for a while because I don't feel good about pushing my articles right away. It looks somehow bad, don't you think?

I think if that strategy has been successful then carry on with it. The current consensus seems to be that whatever is allowed by the blockchain rules is fine :-) If you are getting extra earnings and views by being hot, then that counts as success - you're essentially paying the bots for advertising.

Well, I am not so sure about that to be honest. Yes, I do appear on the hot and even trending pages for my niche. But after about 2-4 hours after posting the posts I don't get any more upvotes in 95% of all cases. So, I guess that strategy is not really doing anything for me except polishing my ego for having bigger numbers I can stare at for a week - which will then go down bit by bit, day by day.

Heh. This is only a strategy for making yourself feel better. The math says that the final value will be the same regardless of when the votes are applied (though voting later does help the curation values of your fans at the cost of the curation value given to the pools)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86