Man flu. It's true. All of it !

in #steemit-health7 years ago

So yesterday, the unexpected happened (unexpected because it's summer) ... my nose started running. Now if you've seen my nose, then you know what a big deal this is. To call my nose big is actually quite the understatement ! Niagara Falls ain't got nothing on me when my nose starts running.

Well, as the day progressed, my eyes started itching, feeling as if someone is taking a tight grab on them. Dread filled me, this wouldn't be .... Nah, it's just a cold.

So after dinner, I went to the gym and did my workout, still feeling a bit under the weather, but no biggy. Until it was time to sleep that is. This is where the manFlu is taking over: My throat was starting to feel really sore now as well, I swear it felt as if someone is trying to pry them out with pliers. The grip on my eyeballs was tightening. Something was pressing on my ears from the inside out. The running nose was shutting down entirely.


A long night ahead

Suffice to say, I had little to no sleep last night. My wife always tells me her mom said to 'go do something different' when she couldn't sleep. I did a lot of something different things, amongst which eating ice-cream twice to soften the pain in my throat. There were also a lot of trip to the bathroom because I drank so much water during my workout (Yes, in 20/20 hindsight, I should've skipped that)

When I 'woke' up this morning. It had hit me full force. I was struck down by manFlu. You should've seen the look on my wife's face. She was all rolling eyes and disbelief. See, she doesn't believe in manFlu, thinks I am exaggerating the extend of my affliction. Well, I (and every man with me) can assure you that the ailment is real.


Soldier up

Being the man that I am though (and not wanting to call in sick in general) I went to work this morning. Enter a night of the living dead shambling towards the bus stop. Every bone in my body ached. Not to mention the muscles from the workout last night. I don't think I've ever walked so slowly.

Luckily the bus came right away so I didn't have to wait around in my dismal condition. I was feeling so under the weather that, where I usually take out my phone to browse Steemit (since I signed up) or 9gag, today I just sat/lay in my seat. Hoping to get to work so I could hang about there and drink coffee. Now I know at this point, you must be thinking

what the hell is this dude doing going to work in this condition !?!

In my defence , I am working on a project with a tight deadline that I know everything about. I didn't want to throw it in someone else's lap and good luck with it. Luckily it's a project I am working alone on, so the amount of interaction was limited to non-existent today.

Coming home, my wife was really sweet. She bought me coughdrops and asked if I wanted a hot bath. Still thinks I'm acting like a baby though. The bath helped a little. I'm feeling just a wee bit human again.

Dumping lot's of vitamins into my system tonight, fresh fruit, vitamin pills, anything that might help.
Let's hope tomorrow brings some more progress.



Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians

Sort:  

See! A man is not complicated. A man is just experiencing everything just a little bit more intense than a woman

you bet. The science is still undecided, but this shit is REAL !

Looks like someone is looking to go fishing .......

Oooof! Man flu is the worst! Only one way to get cured of it: beer...

uch no beer is the last thing on my mind. And I have a nice cold Hop & Liefde in the fridge as well :(

Hey, ​Bennieeeeeeeeee!!!! How are you man, are you going to blog post​ as well?!

Epic photoshop waterfall! Or is it real?? Be well!

It feels real !

rolling eyes

oh you know .... YOU KNOW !

Get better! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79