Steemit Addiction: Destructive or a means to success?

in #steemit-health7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever dreamt of steemit while sleeping, forgot to brush your teeth or eat while on steemit, rush to your computer when you wake up just to log in on steemit, checking out steemit posts / your posts on steemit while watching TV , forgotten about your face book, Linkedin and other social media friends / page,   stealing out holiday time just to login on steemit,  discussing or thinking of steemit when you are with your partner  and even checking out your steemit  posts while taking care of your business in toilet? If these are true of you then you are addicted. 

 Pic

We all know that social media addiction (mobile phones and video games ) is  not good for our wellbeing just like intake of excessive alcohol and cigarettes. 

Steemit, for example, is a social media platform and surely can cause addiction due to a lot of goodies in it. This has led, in extreme cases to some members, posting 6 to 8  times daily (pictures of babies, flowers , food , cat, frog, insects , rat -in fact anything) and spend almost 15 hours daily on steemit . Moreover, this issue has led to some negative effects:


Pic

  • Sleep deprivation : For me, steemit is the best social media platform that rewards people financially. However this rewards , in extreme cases has caused sleepless nights especially after posting a fresh article , waking up in the middle of the night to check if your post has earned big money and even dreaming about it sometimes and screaming in your dreams.
  • Relationship issues: not spending quality time with your family can lead to relationship issues especially if you have children. This also relates to less time with friends which can have a negative effects.
  • Health issue: in extreme case, this can lead to negative effect to your health due to lack of outdoor activities especially if you spend all your time on steemit and forget to eat and brush your teeth.


All these above issues are true of addiction, however steemit is not the problem and thus should not be blamed; we as users should use the platform prudently in order to have time for other activities.

                                                           Some helpful Tips : 

  • Admitting It: we all are addicted to something, therefore admitting the truth to yourself and finding solution is a good thing. Some steemans eg @macksby , @sterlinluxan and @soldier (to mention just few) have written about the issue of addiction including about being addicted to steemit platform examples are  @walkingkeys , @fireriseace , @pairmike , @steemspoker , @ben.zimmerman . Therefore, admitting and  talking about the issue is helpful and thus will lead to finding a pragmatic solution.
  • Take a break: Try to go on a holiday and if possible, delegate your steem power out to those who will use it wisely.
  • Ask for help: If you consistently scream about steemit and dream of steemit even when you are making love or in the toilet, then you better meet a psychologist who specializes on social media addiction.


Conclusion: Steemit (in my view) is the best social media platform with a lot of goodies. However, we can be addicted to the platform just like any other technological gadgets (mobile phone, TV , Video game) .Admitting this reality and finding a prudent solution will be helpful for all of us in the long run.

What do you guys think?

• I am not addicted to  steemit 

• I am addicted to steemit and Love it-I do not care

• I am addicted to steemit and need help

• Shut up @charles1, you are talking nonsense.. ......steemit addiction is sooooooooooooooo sweet!!!!


Send in your comment, please resteem this for others to join and up vote to send your support.



Feel free to see my other post on Delegating Steem Power: Destructive power or a means to doing good. 


Sort:  

Haha ! Yes , Yes , Yes, Yes And another triple yes !! I am totally addicted and it is my full time job plus overtime since I was laid off in February !! LOL! Im on here 24/7 it seems except the occasional 6 to 8 hrs sleep and heaven forbid I have to leave steemit to get groceries so I can keep my energy up to STEEM SOME MORE !!! along with plenty of liquids like vitamin waters to stay hydrated !! And plenty of coffee to kkeep going ! LOL! YES IM ADDICTED AND I LOVE IT !! ITS A GOOD ADDICTION !! STEEM ON MY FRIENDS NEED PUT ON ANOTHER POT OF COFFEE !! 👍 ☕☕☕🍷🍺🍸🍻🍹🍵🍵🍵

Hahahahahaha
Come on Steemit!!!! lets eat Facebook...

Your gifs are not showing up right ! Go to @giphy.com ! There's millions there are really easy to share !! Good luck ! Haha it was pretty funny , thanks for sharing!!👍😂😂😂😂😂

Thanks you...thirsty?

Haha awesome ! !! I used that earlier , I love that one !! Thanks my friend 🍷🍷🍷

welcome and thanks a lot for the link🍷🍷🍷

Right ..... :D best post

welcome and thanks for your comment

Hahahaa. I think if your total earning are coming through steemit (which means liberation) then the addiction is quite obvious.
But if you work somewhere else (salaried, slave) then we need to balance both until we see some indications of financial independence.
So I think never think of upvotes just post good content. Now that may vary too, the definition of good content is written no where. What you think is good may not appeal others and vice versa. So just keep doing the best you could and keep learning. One day it would realize. Good KARMAS... Cheers!!!

Good comment indeed, I agree with you.

Thanks mate. Upvoted and following you...

welcome and more success to you.

Bit of both then

Steemit is a good drug :)

I agree, especially the upvotes isnt it? haha

Iam not addicted but i love the beauty of it. I will not lie .. i dreamed that iwill get so many upvotes and i will be rich..hahaha..

Haha, good and honest comment. More success to you

I work many hours on the platform, I do not see it as a social network, I see it as a work platform, I have always been very responsible in my work, I have dedicated my entire life to what I do for a simple reason, The work gives me to eat and to fulfill my obligations, for this reason I try to give the best and take care of the interests of the platform.
I do not consider it an addiction, I attribute it to the responsibility and commitment with steemit that gave me the possibility to live on the web.
I love this platform and I love it well, I want a steemit in the long term, my steem power is considered my retirement insurance, for that reason I want a steemit in the long term.
Excellent work dear friend @ charles1, thank you very much for sharing your opinion and your point of view.

This is a very good comment, I agree with how you see steemit. Its the same with me too..More success my friend.


Thanks For Read :)
To read my future writng please follow my account.. follow me at @nikunjo

great post . very good

I'm addicted and I love it! It's better to be addicted to Steemit than any other social media because Steemit can change your life completely. It's truly the best social media out there!

Good point, thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36