Some Contests - I Will Not Participate InsteemCreated with Sketch.


Source

Now... I like a good competition as much as the next person.

I have also participated in a few - and found that some were more enjoyable than others.

As a result I've cut back.

Its almost a shame as there are always interesting contests.


Source

However I've decided to give some contests a pass as I feel that they make unreasonable demands of their participants.

Besides certain contests setting the bar high - which doesn't greatly bother me anywhere as much as when the winners to such contests are, shall we say... highly questionable.


Some Contests Heavily Dictate Your Entry Post Title

Do all entries to "Big Awesome Contest #45" 'really' need to be titled as such?

I would suggest that seeing a high incidence of posts sharing the same title in part or in full actually erodes the user experience of participants and non-participants alike.


Source

The truth is that nobody is going to click on somebody's post because it declares its 'indentured status' within its very title.

So stop it! ^_^


Less Objectionable:

  • Requiring the inclusion of a particular word in the title.

  • Requiring that a particular tag be the first tag, far worse when in combination with post title restrictions.

  • Up-voting the contest post (this should be an unspoken expectation, not a requirement).


    Source


Reasonable Requests:

  • Resteeming the contest post (Exposure 101!)

  • Identifying the post as being a reply to a contest at 'some' point in the post ('doesn't' have to be at the start).

  • Requiring a link to the contest post within the entry post.

  • Requiring inclusion of a particular tag (which is all contest owners truly need to locate such posts).


Source


It is hoped that this will provide contest organizers some food for thought for future contests. :c)

I am sure that there will be differing views on this matter and, regardless of whether you find yourself in agreement or not, I am looking forward to the discussion below!

Also, if you found this post interesting and would like to share this with your followers and friends then a resteem is always appreciated.

Sincerely,

Previous Post: Reintroducing the Human Body

Sort:  

This is a topic I have been reflecting on lately, and you make some good points, @pathforger. Let me paraphrase your words - I think the inclusion of the contest name in the title takes away from the uniqueness of the post. It makes it look generic.

Whoops! I thought I replied to this one. :c)

You do sum up a large part of my objection well. Who really wants to see a lot of posts to the same contest being so overtly titled just so as to qualify? Its frankly demeaning. :c)

Thank you for your up-vote and comment @irreverent-dan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72