404 -- Where is steemit.chat?

in #steemit-chat6 years ago (edited)

Where is steemit.chat?


If you are reading this then @riverhead, and by extension steemit.chat, has been fired.
What?

The Steem blockchain is run by paid witnesses. As many know witness positions are highly coveted as pay at current prices is around $200,000 - $500,000+ per year versus around $50k - $90k for the 21st position and dropping sharply after that. There is a HUGE difference between the top 20 and backup witnesses. As @klye mentioned the other day, "These are the rockstars of witnesses".

One should be able to look at each name in the top twenty and understand what value they bring to the ecosystem versus those outside of it.

Witness List

Most in the top twenty bring a lot of value to the system other than just signing blocks and running a price feed. My (@riverhead) contribution was running this chat service. That has worked out well for about a year or so now but as time passes folks in the top 20 get complacent, and large stakeholders lose interest in keeping track of who does what for the ecosystem.

In my humble opinion this chat service provided a lot of value to the community and worthy of a witness position. Those with the voting power to shape the witness list disagreed which brings you to this page instead of whatever community you've built over the last year or so on steemit.chat.

Don't Panic!

I have found a willing and able team, lead by @followbtcnews, to take it over. That should happen by the end of the week but it's entirely up to him. He'll have the full data set so things will likely just pick up where they left off but on better hardware if that's the direction he wants to go.

In the meantime we can all take the next couple of days to reflect on what it means to vote for witnesses that bring value to the ecosystem.

Have a look at your top twenty witnesses, who votes for them, and try to figure out why. For example @jesta is a strong witness and you can see who supports him here.

I wish @followbtcnews all the best and I hope you show him the same kindness and support you've given me while providing this service to the community.

See you space cowboy...

Riverhead

Anything earned from this re-post will be donated in total to @riverhead

Sort:  

Just randomly stumbled upon the fact that you are a witness. Voted for you and @riverhead

Thank you very much for the support. I guess my next stop is at the riverhead..... going to have to climb my way to the top. I have a dead set goal now and that is to become one of the top 20 witnesses. I know I can do it, but it is going to take a serious amount of hard work.

He kinda fired himself and is now taking off with 2.7 mil dollars of steem. And being pathetic by putting it on the community that we fired him. The community supported him for more then a year and still is. He is still number 25 this means he is high in the ranking. Just dropped a bit. He could let steemit.chat just run until there is a new platform. A bit ungratefull in my opinion.

I happen to agree with you on this. Did you read the post from @jerrybanfield? Jerry lays it all out man and show that he really did do this to himself. I would GLADLY trade places with him.

Yeah have read it mate. Those 2.7 million isn't bad gotta tell you.

strange that you just copy-pasted the message left on the steemit.chat website... :-/

Yes I did.
I also failed to set it to decline votes
I did add the graphic and do some spell check but yes it was a shock
I panicked, even though he said not to panic
Just sharing the news

Anything earned from this re-post will be donated in total to @riverhead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66