Comic: Cyris the Immortal

in #steemit-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

The coolest class I ever took in college was a film noir seminar.

I knew it was a cool class because on the very first day, the professor told us we could do something "creative" for our midterm instead of writing a paper. As a person who would do anything to not have to write a paper, I first said HELL YES very loudly, and then decided to do a short 10-page film-noir inspired comic, and it was the one and only A+ I ever got in college because I am not a very academically talented person, the end.

I pulled like 3 all-nighters to finish this on time, but this class seriously ended up changing the way I draw and sparked my interest in narrative art (despite being an English seminar), so I thought it was worth sharing here. Here it is — try and see how many film noir tropes you can find, because I tried to include all of them.

CTI_Banner 1-2.jpg

FN_STM_1.jpg

FN_STM_2.jpg

FN_STM_3.jpg

FN_STM_4.jpg

FN_STM_5.jpg

FN_STM_6.jpg

FN_STM_7.jpg

FN_STM_8.jpg

FN_STM_9.jpg

FN_STM_10.jpg

Sort:  

Fun stuff! I'm reminded of Frank Miller's Sin City. The red accents are a very nice touch. I look forward to seeing more :)

thank you!! that is such a huge compliment, frank miller is one of my biggest inspirations. :D

proceeds to launch into my longest yea boiiii ever

Congratulations @evacprocedure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love this. Your work is very strong nice balance of black and whites!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56