You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Bot’s - Race to the bottom - The Impending BOT Armageddon!!!

in #steemit-bots8 years ago

I wonder if the bots' earnings will ever go to 0. I vote whenever I find a good post, without complete regard to timing, and although it often earns me very little, it earns me something. Wouldn't the bots always earn something? Especially since they are running 24/7 and there will almost always be people voting after them.

I think the bot factor here at steemit makes things a lot more interesting and more times than not, makes it a better community for us humans, in my opinion. Thanks for this thought provoking article!

Sort:  

Thanks for your post @kenny-crane. With regards to the 'zero' claim I made. If the race to the bottom continues, and they keep their bot's completely unchanged, this can happen. However the likelihood is that, they will begin to make changes to their voting behaviour very soon.

I do think they will make changes. Perhaps an easy change is to have each bot pick a real random number between 0 and 60 for each vote, and vote after than number of minutes elapses after the post goes live. No AI investment needed, and on average, they may share the curation award rather equally among themselves, other curators and with the authors.

There might be a math equation or monte carlo simulation to determine the exact range for the random wait time and whether the distribution is uniform or follows some other function. But as a start, it may be that a simple random time delay would be near optimal for all concerned. We'll see what happens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55