📷 VIENNA PHOTO SAFARI

in #steemit-austria6 years ago (edited)

PHOTOSAFARI IN VIENNA


It's been already almost a week ago - on Easter Monday: it was actually the first nice day of Spring after some mostly miserable weather, taking pictures of details and window shopping. A good day for windowshopping is always a holiday when shops are closed - you return home with a lot of photos, but no bulky shopping bags and an empty wallet.

Right-click the images and select open in new tab to view larger size!

Praterstern - detail of Tegetthoff Monument. Wilhelm von Tegetthoff was Vize Admial of the Austrian Marine - yes, Austria had a marine, and should I be able to find it in my photo stacks I might post some photos at another time, there is a entire section devoted in the Heeresgeschichtliche Museum (Museum of Military History) in Vienna, Below a couple more pics.

IMG_0589-90.jpg

Then I got back on the U-Bahn and went to the city center, getting off on Stephansplatz and made my round across downtown - my intention was to take pictures of details, rather than postcard stuff.

Kärntnerstrasse

IMG_0592.JPG
Neuer Markt

I can't remember where some of the pics were taken (actually, just one) - I was meandering around:

IMG_0600.JPG


IMG_0608.JPG
▲ Schillerplatz ▼

IMG_0612.JPG

IMG_0623.JPG

this one is obvious - Mozart in the Burggarten

IMG_0629.JPG

▲ Palais Schey, Goethegasse ▼

IMG_0633.JPG

Albertina

IMG_0635.JPG

which takes me to Bitzinger's gourmet Würstelstand on Albertinaplatz (hot dog stand)
a couple of weeks ago, Pamela Anderson was spotted eating there ▼

IMG_0637.JPG

IMG_0596.JPG

this one is on Kärntnerstrasse - but it is already sort of a hybrid: Happy Noodles and Kebab ?! .... and they call themselves a "Wiener Würstelstand" ? - like the old-fashioned Vienna coffee house culture, the traditional hot dog stands are slowly disappearing

IMG_0602.JPG

... and something for the hip crowd, Juices and Smoothies; this one is near the Opera
and down in the Opera Passage, the ambiance of this shot of the Anker Cafe reminds me a little bit of Nighthawks by Edward Hopper

IMG_0603.JPG

But since I talked about it in the intro on top, here are some photos of

Windowshopping


IMG_0597.JPG

IMG_0598.JPG

there are very expensive shops, and also some cheap shops on Kärntnerstrasse - I didn't really notice which are which, but the 2 above are definitely expensive, probably not so the ones below, but I can't be sure.

IMG_0599.JPG

IMG_0646.JPG

IMG_0647.JPG

IMG_0650.JPG

Swarovski


they frequently change their display windows - very artistically: this one is of common Supermarkt items, encrusted with crystals.

IMG_0644.JPG

and reflected in the mirrors ▼

.... and since we are on the subject of blings .... ▼

.... I know for a fact, I won't have enough if I checked under my couch cushions ....
.... the prices are €, not zloty 🤑
but I may be able to afford some chocolates, so won't you join me for some "Mozartkugel", well actually this is a Lindt store, Mozart is a couple blocks down from there, but I didn't get a picture (they are my favorites, and I eat them until I get sick!)

IMG_0601.JPG

That's it for my Easter Monday Excursion - there are more photos on my Flickr account, check the album PHOTOSAFARI IN VIENNA.



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

Sort:  

oh... would love to take a walk in that city just now ! ;-)

yeah, was long overdue for me to take time out for it. Come back to visit again!

Oh.... I Loooove to..... but I can´t at the moment I´m saving up for a much further destination this summer.... I think I will be making it over in Autumn this year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57