You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tyler Durden of ZeroHedge Joined Steemit! Oh, it's only Copy Paste Zer0Hedge

in #steemit-abuse7 years ago (edited)

Honestly, I'm starting to lose faith in Steemit. (Not that I am some old hand).

Trending is a non-stop parade of BookingTeam junk mail spam pulling thousands of rewards. Then you have reposters like this guy, while I'm spending hours on well thought out and researched posts that, aside from my own vote, make under $1.

For example, I got no traction whatsoever trying to expose this rewardpoolrape, and instead, you have the whole platform ranting like morons about stopping self-voting.

https://steemit.com/curation/@lexiconical/exposing-advertiser-circle-jerks-in-trending-reward-pool-rape-and-bookingteam-com

Hint: You cannot stop self-voting with: Delegation, new accounts, vote trading, sock puppets, instant free transfers. You are an idiot if you think you can stop self-voting without removing these functions.

Sort:  

I really have to take more time to read some of what is going on instead of just sifting through the abuse posts. I've had tunnel vision a bit since I've been back.

I seriously didn't realize that self up-voting posts for dolphins and minnows was was so controversial lately.

The only way to stop self voting is to remove comment, curation and post rewards.

Self voting isn't all bad. Like anything else it is how & why the person is self voting. Just like the occasional copy & paste isn't bad when it follows copyright laws IMO. It's when it becomes spam that it becomes a problem.

I self vote about once a day on average for @zoee with this account. I don't have the money to power the account up and I'd like to use the account as a counter flag bot or something in the future.
I self vote my comments made under @steemcleaners when they need to be visible with either or both @steemcleaners and @patrice.

@bookingteam.com is another one I haven't had time to investigate. Thanks for the link. Is this what steemit.com would look like as companies come online? They rarely comment and are at 100% SP, rarely comment, and cash out.

I think reallocating some of the reward pool towards vote dispersion would reduce self-voting, or perhaps limiting the number of rshares that can be awarded by a single account (in votes) per top level post (including all sub-comments). I'm sure these are unlikely to happen though.

You may find the tools we're developing here useful in your investigations too:
http://www.steemreports.com/

I think sometimes tweaking the system to reduce abuse isn't the answer. There can't be an automatic fix for every problem as some would like there to be. Sometimes those fixes just create new problems.

The best we can do is to expose what we see as detrimental to the platform and the value of STEEM/SBD and hope the community agrees and forms a "human" solution by not rewarding such content.

Great tools! I'll definitely use them.

Yes, I know what you mean. It's no good adding complexity to chase a constantly moving target.

I'm afraid that yes, BookingTeam.com could be exactly what the platform looks like. Any company willing to take the risk can reap the rewards of 10x 100% upvotes per day as capital gains. Their marketing "investment" in the platform would pay itself off in maybe a year? Then they would be large stakeholders, "playing with the houses' money", pushing their marketing schlock every single day in Trending. Like today:

https://steemit.com/business/@bookingteam.com/what-s-next-the-future-of-vacation-rental

Note: they used to post straight reposts of articles from Huffington Post, etc. Now they are posting less obviously-abusive content, but IMO it's still just junk-mail advertisements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14