Understanding Your Reputation Score and Why It's Even More Important After HF 19

Hardfork 19 gave everyone more influence... but it also gave everyone more responsibility!

Peace,
dan-atstarlite

Sort:  

My view is that more important is that rewards stay on steem blockchain and they are not cashed out. But even in that case somebody else will buy it and bring steem back. If I upvote myself my steem power go up and when later on upvote somebody else his reward is bigger to. Or if I upvote just my friend. His upvote is worth more and he can reward other people more. So long term I think that this will not be a problem. Upvote you self doesn't look good but have little impact on whole steemit community. My thoughts anyway. But I could be wrong. I don't know.

Yeah, there are a lot of factors involved when accessing an accounts behaviour, but on a case by case basis, I think it's usually pretty clear if an account is adding or subtracting value to/from the community. I think the take away is... Accounts that seek to add value to the community at large will be more successful than accounts that don't.

hi
can you please telll me zere i can find steem account name?
i tried to buy some steem and it requires steem account name and i can not find it
tks

no need annymoore tks

but why my reputation score is stuck at 37 and it is not moving upward, can anyone explain this to me @dan-atstarlite

Here's your account on Steemwhales:

https://steemwhales.com/jzeek

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 1.49.22 PM.png

Looks like you'll be at 38 in no time. Steemwhales shows your reputation to 1 decimal place so it's easier to see how close you are to the next number. The reason it shows as 38.0 there already is because it calculates your rep a little differently. So a few more up votes on Steemit and you'll be there!

edit: just upvoted you and now ur there;)

thanks for this,

it's 43 now :)

thanks i know, i can check it on the site now which the author of this post mentioned in the comment @j3dy

Thank you very much for the information and knowledge, you still I think of as a teacher. Success always for you.

Hey Dan, wondering if you could explain how reputation impacts voting power and rewards. In your video you talk about having higher rep with the new hardfork means a need for more responsible voting. I haven't personally seen anything where it says your rep influences your vote power. I've only seen that the amount of SteemPower you have will influence your vote. So now I'm confused, do both rep and SP influence voting power?

In your video you talk about having higher rep with the new hardfork means a need for more responsible voting.

Not quite, I believe I said that having more "influence" (not rep) means more responsibility.

The rep system is mostly unrelated to SP. So you can buy influence but you can't buy rep.

This is correct:

I haven't personally seen anything where it says your rep influences your vote power. I've only seen that the amount of SteemPower you have will influence your vote.

Rep mostly impacts the platform from a social perspective... and I don't believe that HF 19 changed anything about Rep (so now I see why this video might have confused that issue a bit)

The main point is... given a user's greater influence with respect to post-HF19 voting power distribution, reputation becomes more important from a social/community perspective

i.e.. If you have no influence and you're voting poorly then the community can just ignore you... but if you do have influence and you're voting poorly than the community will eventually act against you (via not voting for you or even flagging you) lowering you reputation

Super informative. POLICE BOTS. THE FUTURE IS HERE!!

Exactly lol.. they're coming!

Whatcha gonna dooo, whatcha gonna do when they come for youuuu... (bad boys, bad boys)

:D

lolol cop dramas are going to be so different in the future!

How many more years you rekon until we notice? (3-33years)

5 - but neural adaptation might suggest that we never notice lol

Ewww...

(tell me more or make sure I don't miss a post about it)

I am searching for helmets to combat against such controls... lol

I want to be the "divergent" like in the movies...hehehe :D

Why not upvote your own post ? In my opinion that´s ok.

Right now your account is $5. Don't you want a whale to come see an awesome post you wrote and upvote you 100% instantly giving you $200? Well that won't happen if everyone is just upvoting their own comments and posts and collecting the money themselves. The self regulating structure of this community needs to be reworked with HF19. The blockchain can't make everything fair. We, as its participants, have to set a new moral foundation to preserve the essence and longevity of this community. While HF19 was a positive thing, it made the site more susceptible to schemes that could harm it. Dan is exactly right. Social rules have to guide us now more than ever.

Steemit isn´t perfect, not sure if it works at all.
You could just transfer your coins to another account and upvote your posts, no one will notice (or to mulitple)

I joined steemit because I think we need to decentralize all major platforms (like facebook, google, amazon) but I´m not sure if this steemit is really working in the long term. Any one that can correct me on that ?

Correct! There is nothing wrong with upvoting your own post. But let's say you leave 10 short comments a day and self vote them all at 100%... this is probably not to the benefit of the community. Also... no one person says what is right or wrong to do... the community as a whole will decide organically over time.

Helpful video. How can you tell if someone flags you? I always get worried when i post something that I am not doing it right and therefor going to get flagged.

flagging isn't very common. if you've been flagged you'll see 1-3 little dots in the upper right hand corner of your post that look like this:
Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 2.28.58 PM.png

you've never been flagged;)

Thanks for the info.. Can you tell me if the "flag" is why your former $$Amount (that someone voted to you) goes down after a while? Is that because someone else "flagged" you? Is that what "downvoting" is?

Flagging will make your payout go down... but that's probably not why your payout is going down... if you've been flagged you'll see 1-3 little dots in the upper right hand corner of your post that look like this:

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 2.28.58 PM.png

Right now pending payout are going down because hardfork 19 is recalculating rewards over a 30 day period and this could continue for a few more weeks before payouts start to stabilize. (simplified answer) But we'll get there!

Also if the price of STEEM falls your pending payout will also drop. Or it will go up is the price rises.

You are so AWESOME for explaining that! Aww man, I thought I was getting on certain people's nerves 'all the time' -- ha ha.. Now, I can tell when I am and when it's finance related.

Thanks for this! I wasn't sure how reputation worked before.

How can it go down ?
When your posts get flagged ?

Could someone please explain briefly what the hardfork 19 means?

Influence is power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33