Hackers Will Be Coming for Your STEEM... Why You Should Use Your STEEM/SBD Savings Accounts

You can never be too safe in crypto!

Peace,
dan-atstarlite

Sort:  

Resteemed you made some great points here thanks for sharing

Dude, you always come out with the most relevant videos! Great methodical outline of information in this vlog too.

You've definitely got the talking skill bud, I could probably just listen to a video of you listing cat names and still be entertained and engaged lol

Thanks man! Encouragement is always welcome and if you've got a list of cats you like I'll give it a try lol

Well...


  • Garfield for starters...
  • then there is Salem from Sabrina the teenage witch
  • Grumpy Cat
  • Sylvester from Looney Toons
  • Penelope Pussycat
  • Tom from Tom and Jerry

I think I can come up with a pretty extensive famous cat list :)

oh oh, we could make this a "Steembirds" song lol. A tune about all the internet cats..Sound like a lot of work tho. and upon re-reading this, a terrible song idea ~

You had me at Penelope's Pussy..

hahaha. Penelope is a hot name for sure !

If I put it in my savings account dos it still go up as wen the steem token goes up ?

Yes! They are still STEEM tokens... you're just locking them up in a smart contract that has a 3 day withdrawal delay. (Obvious Steem Dollars in Savings will not rise with the price of STEEM)

Great thank you !

Thank u so much for this post video :0) really helpfull and inportant. I havent thought about it but now I will. U made my day.
Resteemed upvoted

@saffisara I found this because of you :D

Really? I hope thats a good thing....lol
Im glad, I did what he said so now its in save acount. Have a great day

I only have about 5 sbd, maybe 0 steem, (mostly SP) but this was a very good reminder!

Mabye I should have spend all mine in sp instead? Is is easy to take them out of savings and put them back? Never done that before.

I'm not an expert, but the SP is more secure (greater time delay in emptying out your account) and - as you know -gives you higher voting power. I haven't tried savings until today, so I will let you know when I find out about withdrawals XD I imagine it's easy enough.

I think u right and like u said its good to power up...;0) I think I will do that.
Just dont know that withdraws means. I'll wait if u find out.
So I dont mess up compleatly...lol

hey @dan-atstarlite i wanted to tell you about this too - https://notify.steemdata.com which is a tool i found that can send you notifications of 'activity' on your account which i think is cool, especially if your travelling around and not logging in daily to steem. great blog post bro, watch your videos all the time.

Thanks man! will check it out!

Thanks Dan for sharing this info... was very helpful... i guess best option to secure would be to invest all in steem power, hackers may not have patience to wait 13 weeks.

lol, a 13 week hack undetected would be quite the feat

Great job Dan! They are coming for sure. Great advice!

Jeez.
Now I know why there is a svaings account.
Because wasn't going to use it at 0.0% APR for keeping anything in it in the first place! :-
But now it has a purpose against getting hacked like myetherwallet holders were!

Yeah lol I can imagine the confusion... 0.0% APR in not a great rate

Perfect timing, thank you! I was just looking through the whitepaper yesterday looking for the reason behind the savings. I tucked a little SD in there yesterday to watch and see what happened, but now I understand :)

Does it benefit Steemit as a whole more to have more in savings? I mean does this stay in the same pool as SP or is it a different pool?

No, it doesn't really have benefit to Steemit, as far as I know it's just a security feature. I don't believe it's part of any pool. It's just a time-locked contract that you can transfer your STEEM into.

ps. keep in mind the white paper is totally outdated... still a good read though

Ahh, okay thanks :) So I will keep most in SP to upvote and delegate, to share back some...and a little bit in the savings.

Thank you @dan-atstarlite! This is great info. I personally take all of my liquid Steem and SBD off the platform. The savings system works great if used.

Interesting... do you keep them in cold storage then? I know some people use paper wallets for STEEM but I haven't really come across any easy cold storage solutions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95