How I found out about Steemit - By GDURAN

in #steemingcurators4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Back in 2016, after having worked on several marketing ventures, none of which worked, I had several dollars in my Paypal account. Since I am from Honduras and cannot or at least couldn't withdraw, I decided to buy whatever I saw online. It really wasn't much, I am talking about a little over $30.00.

Now around that time I was introduced to the Warrior Forum, a place specialized in digital products, looking through their stock I came upon an ebook that basically said" Make money just by blogging, some people are already making thousands of dollars.

I don't usually fall for this kind of thing and besides I wasn't into blogging, but on the other hand here was an opportunity where I just had to buy an ebook and it said that was the only investment needed. It was worth something like $10.00 so I just bought the thing and forgot about it. This must have been in June of 2016, I didn't do anything with it, I did read but I was already bored before even trying.

Then in August of that same year I read of several people making nice amounts of money just by making an introduceyourself post on Steemit. I remembered the ebook, and thought well I am going to try it after all I already have ten bucks in this. So I made my introductory post with great expectations and a few minutes after having posted I had about $0.30, not big money but still I had made some money just from writing.

Then catastrophe hit, I was downvoted by a guy who went by the username of @asshole, this vote was only worth a few cents but it was enough for me to think Steemit wasn't for me. I stayed away from the platform only occasionally looking at it, and seeing some posts about someone making $15,000.00 with just one article. I did want that, maybe not as much but suppose I could work out a way to get a few dozen dollars a day?

So I did come back and started writing a few posts a month, getting some small votes, until finally I got a big $20.00 vote, that one made me feel great. But it was just that once I continued averaging between $0.20 and $0.50 per post so it was really not to my advantage, but by this time I liked the platform and decided t try as hard as I could.

This made see the intricacies of Steemit, to make money you had to get whale votes and how do you get these votes? By sucking up to them. Now I am more of an antagonizing type I prefer to make someone view what he did wrong than to tell him or her how great they are. So my journey was not good.

It was never and up to now it hasn't been that good, but I was able, before Steem went to $8.00, to cash out over $600.00 which came in very useful, I have done some other cash outs and just a few days ago I was able to withdraw over $300.00 and pay off a debt I had.

So overall my trip has been good, not great, but I have improved my writing, I have met a few nice people and I think it has been worth it. Now we have to wait and see what happens, I guess this will be in a few weeks, once we have no more of the people who moved things here should improve. Because after all the one thing that makes for the success of something like Steemit is the price of the token.

I have onboarded at least 5 people, including my daughter, unfortunately none of them have had the stamina to try to make it, they write one or two articles get no votes and they just disappear. But I am betting on Steemit and expect it to improve considerably in the coming months.

Sort:  

Hi! Thanks for sharing your story with us! Its not easy to keep newbies engaged and I also expect immediate results. Too bad life doesn't work that way and it teaches us to keep hustling. Hope your situation improves by the day!

Thank you for your post! You got upvoted by the @steemingcurators with massive help from @steemcurator02!
Want to participate in more challenges on Steemit? Check our latest posts for more info! Thanks for #steeming
@cryptokannon ~ @ciska

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44