Who Do I Follow on Steem & Why?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemimpact4 years ago (edited)

@theycallmedan offered a challenge to the community: select 3 or more Steemians you follow, and write a post explaining why they matter to you. Well, here I am to jump on that bandwagon. Here is my humble (ha!) effort.

Images below are respectfully torn from the profile pages of the individuals in question.

Generikat

@generikat

I introduced my partner-in-library-crime to Steemit shortly after I found it, and she has blogged about everything from homesteading hurdles to travel to personal musings to crazy family stories about growing up in an Alaskan logging camp. When the Kat and I tell our occasional library tales, we try to anonymize our descriptions to protect the innocent, the guilty, and the downright weird alike, but we can share a chuckle over our shared knowledge of who exactly we each really mean by our cryptic nicknames.

ScribblinGramma

@scribblingramma

Another Steemian I introduced to the idea of blockchain blogging. She writes somewhat irregularly about quilting, travel, cats, cooking, and whatever the freewrite prompt of the day might be. To be honest, if I didn't know her in person, I probably wouldn't read her material myself, but perhaps this should be a reminder to expand our circles to read more diverse subjects. We can't grow the platform by becoming too insular. I hope the new communities feature doesn't isolate people further.

MyJob

@myjob

I don't know how I first came across her account, but her stories about commercial fishing from a small boat on the Florida coast intrigued me. She's posted more consistently than I've upvoted her. She's also been responsive to questions and conversation. I appreciate her honesty about the trials and triumphs of living independently.

Dullhawk

@dullhawk

Newspaper columnist. Mountain man. Rabblerouser. Cantankerous libertarian purist striving to carve away inconsistencies that get in the way of liberty for all. What more can you ask for? He posts almost daily, and he slays the sacred cows of state religion. He's usually a bit more laconic than the more loquacious ladies above.

The Big Players

I have to offer a nod to @papa-pepper and @meesterboom, but they're hardly minnows in need of recognition. If you're not following them, you're missing out.

Papa-Pepper has done a lot to promote community, and needs no introduction to anyone here, I hope. He writes about homesteading, family, and of course, peppers.

Meester Boom has been throwing his weight behind @steemflagrewards on top of churning out his deranged and vulgar brand of blog comedy and beer reviews.

The Missing

@crowbarmama, @guntotnhippie, and @crowbarkids dropped off the radar shortly after I met the family in person, and I have no idea what happened. Was it a case of a dead computer and lost keys, or did crowbarmama's health problems catch up with her? Does anyone know anything?

Sort:  

A nice focus on minnows here, I like it!

And good to see SFR getting an honourable mention too, as well as the !Boom legend!

!ENGAGE 20

SFR: vigilantism done right! But in all seriousness, I hope we are doing some good for the platform. This isn't secret lynching, it's an open ledger blockchain.

Yes I agree, I quite enjoy flagging through SFR.

I didn't know @generikat was your good lady!!

I remember crowbarmama, she was really active. I wonder if anyone does know where/what

She's my co-worker, not my wife. She'd kill me in the latter instance.

Lol, oops! Partner in library crime threw me! I misread it as partner in crime!

She's my co-worker,
Not my wife. She'd kill me in
The latter instance.

                 - jacobtothe


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.



@jacobtothe you have received 20 ENGAGE from @revisesociology!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98