Why Am I Still Here (Initiative)

in #steemimpact4 years ago

I just saw this initiative from @theycallmedan. After everything that's happening in this platform, we are unsure of the future of Steemit. Hence, I want to look back on my journey, and relate my reasons why I am still here until this moment.


Source Pixabay

Journey

My journey here on Steemit has never been smooth sailing, but that's the kind of life I have been able to adapt in this platform. I joined the community sometime in August 2017, the time when I am looking for a platform to write for. A social media acquaintance whom I have met back 2014 through Bubblews.com has shared it on Facebook, and it caught my attention. Other FB friends also joined in, so I decides to go onboard Steem.

Upon what I have heard from online friends, and based on my observation from earlier members, I am determined to build up my account. My first week has been tough. My first post's earning literally earned nothing. The next post has earned few cents, and it was followed by posts with zero to few cents earnings.

After a week, one of my posts was finally noticed, and it's @ocd who curated my post which earned more than a dollar for the first time. Afterwards, I discovered sir @surpassinggoogle, who has been a huge part of my Steemit journey. I also learned about dapps, and many functionalities on Steemit.

Since I am relatively new on Steemit at that time, I am part of a community which was led by the one whom I saw sharing Steemit on Facebook. I am thankful to him for that. Though, the community is quite toxic. There are rules that hinders a member to support other communities or teams. There are lots of online confrontations and fights until the team collapsed. That time, I felt like being freed from hand cuffs. I learned to expand and learned more. I became part of communities, which sadly are dormant already. Those are Steemit Philippines, Steemit Achievers, eSteem, @dlike, and others. I became a curator of Steemit Philippines, which sadly is not operational anymore. Afterwards, I decided to focus on my contents, and I am happy to say that since joining Steemit, I can count from my hands the days I didn't post.

https://steemitimages.com/p/qjrE4yyfw5pEPvDbJDzhdNXM7mjt1tbr2kM3X28F6SraZfUiVuVPQfKhQLNpUvz9Q1cZLqmM8Ec5xfRWW7vhaBLsCEE3jdxpcYTdDotokbmENsx7zpeAA53C?format=match&mode=fit&width=1280

Bringing in some people

I brought in a lot of people on Steemit. From our province, I have referred more than 20 people, but not all of them are still posting. I know the bear market has disappointed them, and stopped Steeming. I am actually hopeful that they will come back someday, that's if Steemit will remain as it used to.

A big help

Either bullish or bearish, Steem earnings helped me with my financial needs. The time of bull market, I am able to buy a lot of things, support some people, and support my voluntary work. I am involved in sign language community, and that's where I use my Steemit earnings. Bear market has been a pain, but earnings still helped me.

Why am I still here?

I actually cannot imagine a day without Steemit. Due to the hullabaloo going on, we are still unsure about the future of Steemit. However, I am hanging on. As long as Steemit is here, I would still be here. The reason is Steemit became part of my life since almost three years ago. For sure, there's life offline, but I don't think it's easy for me to move on that easy. Steemit for me is a passion.


Source Pixabay

Another thing, I still believe on Steemit. If it was given a chance to continue to operate, I still think it is the best decentralized social media out there no matter what other members of such other sites, they can never change the fact that Steemit paved the way for other similar platforms.

As of now, things aren't well on Steemit. Amidst all the chaos, I am hoping that things will turn out well. May peace will come, and the rights of everyone, and decentralization may prevail.


Source Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58