Steemimg.com has been migrated successfully and is back online!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemimg8 years ago

Thank you everyone for your patience during the down time. You may now continue to upload your images to http://steemimg.com.


So What Actually Happened?

Since starting Steemimg about 3 months ago (Wow time flies!) there has been over 79,000 images uploaded for use here on Steemit from over 2000 users which is awesome but also maxed out my initial server purchased for the project. It was a simple virtual server to say the least and didn't have much in the way of resources, so it was bound to happen at some point. The reality is that since the site saves 3 versions of each image hosted (medium, thumbnail, and original) the max file limit was reached rather quickly.

So What Now

Currently I have moved the main site along with most of the 230,000 images to a new dedicated virtual server with a hell of a lot more resources and will be hosting most of the uploaded images off the server on a google cloud storage server. I will be monitoring the upload volume and potential long run cost of hosting the images. When I come to a more concrete price, I will come up with a more long term plan, but for now this seems very reasonable.

Thoughts?

Let me now your thoughts about the change and any ideas anyone might have for more long term solution.

Also Anyone that had a problem getting verification emails , this should be solved, if not please comment and let me know.

Thank You Steemit community for continued support!

blue

Sort:  

Amazon has the cheapest prices I've found online and it loads faster all over the world. Try Amazon AWS or Amazon EC2
I used them to host videos for a website I built and over 300 websites on a dedicated server for a few bucks per month. Loaded fast.

I'll check it out, I had credit from google I had laying around so thought I might as well use it up.

Just that some of us would be happy to pay for this service so there is not so much of a burden on you at least financially:) Thank you for an awesome service.

Thanks, I will let everyone know if paid accounts come into play at any point!

I would be the first to say that this is an AWESOME service and I am very grateful for it. However I would not even consider paying for it as I have other options of which would be free.
If you and others want to pay for it thats great! I do feel that whoever it is deserves compensation for the service. There is also no question about that.
Thanks @blueorgy for all you have done which is even more than this for the Steemit Community!

Well the paid version could have extra features like removing the maximum 20 image upload limit.

Yea or MOST importantly and IMAGE EDITOR on site! That would be real nice!

I never thought about that. It would be great for last minute touch ups or crops!

Oh wow really?
I just figured it cost to much to implement. I can tell you though it would be VERY valuable and a HUGE upgrade to the whole site and would make me and other want to use it a lot more. Defiantly a feature worth paying for!

Thank you very much for the service you have provided.

Hi @blueorgy - I think one of the main reasons why I have not uploaded photos and made them publicly available is because I fear that there are many photos that may not be public domain or have a creative commons license.

I would sincerely hate to see you/your site zapped for copyright infringement. If I were you, I might put a disclaimer or some kind of TOS that states the person uploading their photos have express written consent or is the creator of said photos and any legal actions against photos not CC or PD is the sole responsibility of the user.

I don't know if that will hold up in any kind of court, but it's something to protect you and your assets. Of course, I would word it a little more eloquently, but you get the idea.

Thanks for the info. I have a solid generic TOS which should cover all that you mentioned. I do want to get a real one made up soon and work with a lawyer. The site isn't huge yet so I'm not so worried, but maybe this will be needed sooner rather then later.

Hi!

Unfortunately, I'm not receiving the email with activation link. I first tried with my hotmail account and today with my gmail account. I looked on spam box too, not working for me...:(

Can you help me, please!?

[email protected]

Thanks

username on steemimg?

I'm not sure anymore, because I've tried different ones.

The email is [email protected] and one of the user I tried was Liliwee.

Did it helped?

I don't see any account under that name

I also tried with "liliana.duarte" and "lily", but I was almost sure I tried most with "liliwee".

Do you have access to the registry with emails? I used [email protected] and [email protected]

Any suggestion?

Excellent. Great Job.

Thanks for your continued effort.

Excellent. I will retry for my verification email shortly.

Thanks for this awesome service!

The best Platfrom, i realized how much it meant to me! Without it Steemit is not the same. The convenience it offers! I hope Steemimg never shuts down! 100% Upvote From me

I would love to try it but unfortunately it is still proving impossible to receive the email activation link.

Thanks for letting me know. I updated the mail server so this shouldn't be an issue any more , I wonder what the problem is... Some get it just fine and others don't. what is your email service provider?

Thank you. I activated your account as well.

Thanks! I'm in 👍

I would also love to try but I cant get the email either. I've tried both my gmail account and my hotmail account with no success. I write for steem sports and they'd like everything through steemimg so getting my own account would be extremely beneficial for both myself and my editor.

Looking for an add for [email protected] or @will-zewe on steemit.

sent you a message reply on steemit chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94