Don't Panic! ๐Ÿ˜Ž Steemimg.com is only down because it's getting an ๐Ÿš€ UPGRADE!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemimg โ€ข 8 years ago (edited)

You heard right, I am currently migrating from the current server to a new one and boy does it feel good! It isn't the ultimate server, by any means, but it will do the trick and do it well. The costs are roughly $1500 a year and I've paid up for the entire next year. As you can tell from my account, I have choose to pay this out of pocket and keep all that I've earned from Steemit / received from generous donations, on Steemit to show my continued support for the platform.

I will also be using major segments of the server to run other projects outside of Steemit in order to do some cost sharing, making the server much more affordable in the long run.

During Downtime All Images are safe and can be viewed via their respective direct links.

Currently there are over 235,000 Images on Steemimg and over 2,000 Users
So I'm not sure for the timeline but I don't expect it to be too drawn out.

I will be keeping everyone updated on the progress here or in a continued post so stay tuned! You can always just check if its back up by visiting the site ๐Ÿ˜ http://steemimg.com

See you on the other side!
blue

Sort: ย 

STEEMIMG IS THE BEST IMAGE HOSTING SERVICE OUT THERE PERIOD.
Support Updates 100% Upvote from me!

Best if it's not down. Hot switching / load balance / fail over or something.

I'm one of the 2000 Users -- thanks for hosting Steemimg. I like how I can upload an image and then use links to different-sized versions.

Thank you again for this service to the Steem community! Shameless plug: This post about embedding links to images on Steem with steemimg. My hubby wrote it. https://steemit.com/photography/@mrlightning/howto-linked-images-showing-off-full-photo-quality-using-steemimg

Nice! Also Just to let you know I store 3 different sizes of the original image and those a actually links to different sizes. so every time someone uploads and image its actually 3 ;) <- referencing the comment on your post

Tell the hubby that, I am just his agent. :P

Thanks buddy.

Good to know and congrats on the new server. I'm sitting here refreshing Steemimg on my phone to upload on my other account right now in fact, then on my laptop saw the post. Whew! @stellabelle is right, great image!! -exp

Always appreciated @blueorgy!

ย 8 years agoย (edited)

Don't Know What You Got (Till It's Gone)


...and it's gonna be back!
Thanks!
:D

Nice! Hope the new server works out well. I love Steemimg.com; I use it to host all the images for my blog posts. It works great and is probably the most helpful Steemit related tool I've used to date. Keep up the good work!

Also, do you have an ETA for when the site will be back up? I have a new post I'd like to push out tonight, but need to be able to upload my images first.

It a matter of image transfer at the moment , I will do an update post shortly on the eta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82