My Steem Ibadan Story

in #steemib6 years ago

Let me tell you a story...

IMG_3429.JPG

So a few weeks ago, I got a call telling me about something related to Steem that was to happen in Ibadan, Nigeria. It was billed to be the best meetup yet. The voice on the other side sounded so sweet and it felt like it was all hyped and too good to be true. The promises were so high and seemed way too impossible to achieve but there was only one way to find out.


IMG_3357.JPG

I had to be there to see for myself so I checked for the details and embarked on the journey down to Ibadan. On getting to this big city, where I knew nowhere, I had to rely on asking around for directions. Some Good Samaritan finally helped me find my way and I was at the venue.


IMG_3381.JPG

I sat down like a boss. I must say the environment was awesome. The organisers get an A for venue. I was so lucky to have come early enough as people began to troop in in their numbers and before you could spell STEEM, the hall was filled to capacity. I was impressed and I had to show it!


IMG_3409.JPG

After several hours and all the hype, food was nowhere to be found. Can you imagine that? I thought they said there'll be lots of food and drinks over here? The best meetup yet? Never! This must be the best scam yet. I was so pissed at this point but no one seemed to care. They just went on talking about all this Steemit bullcrap.


IMG_3362.JPG

You think I'm lying, come see the chat on my phone. Guys see o, can't you see? They actually specifically mentioned that there'd be more than enough food. I had no idea where all that promised food had gone to hide. Or was it on that Israelite journey? 🤔


IMG_3363.JPG

Moments later, I felt re-energized! I had seen something that looked like food coming through. I wasn't sure but my instinct is rarely wrong. The excitement couldn't be hidden. Oh my goodness!! Food is on its way!!!


IMG_3461.JPG

Oh yeah the food came and my instincts were right yet again. There was pizza and small chops and drinks. At the time this picture was taken, my drink was the only surviving item available to feed your eyes with.


IMG_3353.JPG

My people say something in the line of "Once food is taken away from a man's problem, his problems are over". I don't know if what I wrote is a legit saying but it was true in my life. As soon as food was settled, I could then show my real face. So I sat down and listened to the speakers talk. Looks like I learned something.



Did you attend the Steem Ibadan Meetup? If you did, do drop your comments on your thoughts as regards the event. How would you rate it/ how big of an impact did it have on your life. Is it the best organised meetup yet?
Sort:  

This post is so creative....
I enjoyed the meetup, the venue was cool, turn up was impressive, the speakers were a hit back to back.
I enjoyed the pizza part....
You guys were absolutely amazing

Thank you for coming! I enjoyed seeing you too and your fine smile . 😁😍☺️

Do we want to pretend like we don’t know who the person in the first picture is? 🤔😁

No laye! we are not pretending...
This is my chance to blow....

Hello everybody, the lady in the picture is me....

@adejoke16 i saw you too...
Thanks for hosting us

Thank you for coming😀

you are beautiful sister!

Thank you....

Obong, do follow me back!!!

Oh! I poured out my heart out on the post i made about it already and i will do that again now. Without any iota of doubt, that was the best by miles and really, it was totally awesome. The ambience, the touch, the people, the lectures, putting a face to the handles, the food...oh...yes...the laughs and finger pointing when reality sets in and you actually see the person in flesh, the Fi! Hahaha everything was top notch. I haven't recovered from the joy and excitement given during this meet up. That was absolutely amazing, mind blowing and really fun. I can't wait for more.

How would you rate it/ how big of an impact did it have on your life.

It really had a big impact on my understanding of steemit and helped me unlearned somethings

Using that christian song (show me how big the size of your God is), i could sing (The impact wey steemit ib meetup do for my life is so big oh, agidigba oh)

The meetup was cool and very informative. Most importantly refreshing to the brain and to the body through the snack and drink.

Keep steeming

@tormiwah

Twas a WOW event

Got to see all the STEEM family in flesh and blood.

For me it is was enlightening.

YES! IT IS THE BEST MEETUP SO FAR
So SHAPRA PRA

To me, this is the best meet-up yet!!
And I am so glad to have been a part of it.
The Ibadan steemit family has made me see that family goes beyond tribe and nationality and blood. Family is a group of people that share similar interests and make things happen.
I'm so glad to be a part of this family.
Much love 😘😘😘

The event was really impressive. I have no regrets making out time to be there

Oh! Yeah! I did attend the Steem Ibadan Meetup and it's amazing, the biggest one ever! I had fun all through. I really enjoyed myself and I must confess, I've never had it as fun as that in a very long time. The Steem Ibadan Meetup really killed it
I'm this cool guy that looks almost exactly like you, the selfie I took with you stamps that, lol. Steemit gave everyone (different tribe, race etc) a chance to interact, socialize and relate with each other like a family. I've also seen Steemit bring out the best in People.
The Steem Ibadan Meetup was very educative as I was able to go home with how to really get the best out of Steemit without missing out on anything, especially the fun.
I also enjoyed the pizza.

Thank you for being who you're.

Food at conferences is always on my mind. I need to know what it is and when it's coming, and if I'll eat it at all.

What was the ratio of girls to guys? Looks like mostly guys from the photos?

food is very important

Haha! You should come to Nigeria soon. You’ll eat and eat till you can’t eat anymore 😁

There were lots of girls. I believe it should be close to 50:50. I only used pictures that went with the story I was trying to tell.

I just might do a different post focusing on the “girls at the meetup”

50:50 would be impressive. We had 8 out of 19 total at our last meetup, that was the best ratio I've seen. Most crypto meetups have 19 men for each woman, but Steem usually has 2:1 which is far closer to what it should be.

I did not attend but looking forward to when a Lagos meet up would be organized

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwn!!!

See me looking so dapper there!!!
I'll definitely rate this event very high cause it's my very first of it's kind.
It's already a yardstick for future events around Steemit that I'll attend.

Others have to set the bar high enough to meet/beat this standard that @tojukaka and his team set on Saturday.
Glad to have been a part of it though!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69771.68
ETH 3782.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46