You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My fellow Steemians

in #steemian6 years ago

I can relate to your experience brother, I think most like minded people that got into Steemit had similar experiences. A lot of people I know would do GREAT things on Steemit, but it seems hard to convince them to actually open an account. What is the best way you have found to convince people that would fit well in this platform to join Steemit? It seems I have hit a road block with my rhetoric in this regard. I love this post, strait from the heart. Blessings.

Sort:  

What works best for me is promising that I will upvote and resteem their content. One of the big barriers is that whatever following you have on another platform, it takes a while to move it to Steemit, especially with the approval delay. Telling people that I want to share my following with them and make sure they're not starting from scratch is the most effective approach from my thus far limited experience. Great question!

You have to remember though that this is a different type of platform. Your followers just can't follow you....people who are seen working the system to make money off the platform by just upvoting and not writing content are eventually banned. I am a blogger for the most part, it's my strong point, granted it would be a hard uphill battle to get rich like a whale just upvoting but it's even harder to get anything other then a penny or two from spending hours writing something...but it's basically a requirement so I do it once, twice a week. Your followers come over here and see you putting up a meme and getting a hundred bucks while they can't make two cents writing a article isn't going to keep them around. Hey if you ain't going to get jack nothing for posting a meme by all means post it but posting it knowing you are going to make hundreds it just taking money away from people sharing in the same pool of money your money is coming from.

@sunlit7, I definitely understand people's frustration seeing others post nonsense and get $80 or $100+ for it, while many other people's quality posts, that took them hours or days, barely makes a few pennies. I know most of us have experienced this on Steemit, one good example I will mention is a fellow Steemian and personal friend @brutledge. She puts time and love into her posts, but it seems no matter what I personally do to help her, I still don't think she has been able to clear 40 cents on any one post. I would say her average payout is about 3-10 cents per post. She deserves more, but I do not know how else to help besides to keep promoting her in any way I can.

In the end, we all have to let go of the jealousy, and instead ask for help from the people we would have otherwise been jealous of (dolphins/whales). We all have to keep pushing, even when payouts are continuously disconcerting, and hold reserve, patience, and perseverance. Creative collaborations and contests are also a good idea to help advance. I will be posting my first contest giveaway later today or tomorrow.

I am not jealous, I don't know why people keep saying that. This is a hobby not a money maker, I knew it wasn't going to fan out like the way someone described it, anything that sounds to good to be true usually is. Getting paid for a hobby?....lol. In every system in life there is always the upper tier, the middle tier and the lower tier....decentralization isn't any different even though they claim to be.

I wasn't trying to imply that you specifically were jealous, I was saying that I and many others have had those feelings in relation to what we are discussing here. Many "decentralized" platforms do have a hierarchy, you are correct, however some are in fact TRULY decentralized. You have to find the ones that align most with what you believe in and will likely be successful. I can see Steemit as a hobby for some, and a strait up career for others. Its all what you make of it and how much effort you want to put into promoting yourself and your projects on this platform. It also depends on how much "free time" your lifestyle delegates you to post here frequently.

Also, if you are having trouble getting truly quality content noticed, reach out to @adamkokesh. He is always willing to help support the progression and growth of minnows, he has said so many times in his posts. Especially if your posts are of positive benefit to the Earth and/or mankind, or support the freedom movement in any way. He helped promote my #introduceyourself post and I did not even ask him to. Blessings my friend.

@elamental, tell @brutledge to post again and I will upvote and resteem her as much as I can!

See, and once again i didn't even have to ask him directly. Thanks for being an awesome person and supporting the little guys @adamkokesh. @brutledge should be posting something later this evening. I will coordinate with her and you when i get back from work. Blessings brother.

@adamkokesh, @brutledge posted again about her experience with CPS and the false accusations made against her family, and also about their philosophies of parenting and her family's lifestyle. I will email you about it in case you don't see this reply. Blessings brother, thank you again for everything you do!

Thanks for the advise @adamkokesh. I have tried this tactic with no avail so far. A few of these people would be great for #tribesteemup, maybe that will be the final factor that convinces them to join. I will make a few recommendations to @keenyskitchen and see what he thinks. Blessings my friend, and thank you for your continued support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26