You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Justin Sun and Steem Power

in #steemi5 years ago

A lot of witnesses and others weren't, because they don't trust exchanges or those specific ones in the first place with their coins. I'd agree, if you're hodling definitely do it in your wallet, but I don't trust exchanges too far anyway. I'm pretty sure they had a bit that they didn't power up so that they could keep liquidity, but one of them has actually initiated the power down at least. The reason some of us complain despite not being affected is (for me at least) that I think it's just wrong for an exchange to power up funds that aren't actually theirs. I'd guess that the reason they, and jsun, are pushing for shorter power downs is because they realized people will complain if they don't fix it soon (I believe most who are opposed are taking their holdings off those exchanges as well, if they had any), meaning they don't have quite enough liquidity. I'm opposed to the change in power down period regardless.

Sort:  

As for the power down period I actually don't care either way, but I do believe it has to be more than seven days. And I am guessing they will reach an agreement on this, perhaps the four weeks that were talked about before Justin Sun came into the picture.
He has over 100 million Steem in two weeks he would have more than enough to give the exchanges what they powered up.

Yeah I think the 2 weeks is the problem there. I'm not sure it's quite 100m, there's around 66m proxied to @dev365, which is the big one, and then there's proxy token with like 6m more. I think huobi had around 30m that they powered up? I could be very wrong on the numbers, but I'm pretty sure it's that they have a limited total amount (probably somewhere between 100 and 200m), and if it doesn't go exactly as they want, they'll have legal liability for not cashing out their powered up. Or, in my opinion they should anyway because I think it's a breach of fiduciary, and also they might anyway because the fact that nobody tries to withdraw it doesn't change the implications of their actions. A lot of it is also how much of the value of the token is in the community that would leave if they HF'd it like that. At this point, I just want actual discussions, I get where ppl come at the SF from, but the response was extremely over the top. It wouldn't be okay normally, it's not suddenly ok now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56