F.lux App - Adaptive Screen Colour Temperature

in #steemhunt6 years ago (edited)

F.lux App

Adaptive Screen Colour Temperature


Screenshots

Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 23.34.14.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 23.35.38.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 23.35.52.png


Hunter's comment

F.lux is the first app I install on any computer. F.lux allows you to control the colour temperature of your computer screen. The latest versions of both Mac/Windows both have a "Night Shift"/"Night Light" feature which has the same purpose but with significantly fewer controls. I'm always astounded why people don't use these!

Why would you want to adjust the colour temperature? If you've ever started at a computer for a couple hours in the middle of the night and felt like your eyes were burnings then you know why.

F.lux allows your to disable the changes for specific apps, anything that you need the correct colours for should be disabledPphotoshop/Illustrator/Lightroom etc.

A reminder to crack it up to candle if you don't already! If you've never used it, I promise it's worth an install. And don't worry about people asking if your screen is broken.


Link

https://justgetflux.com/?ref=steemhunt


Contributors

Hunter: @sambillingham



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

I use f.lux in my windows partition. It's really useful since it reduces the eye strain you get from overworking at night. Blue light from laptop would keep you awake which is bad for your health, By using f.lux you could do the same activities with less eyestrain and keep you more healthy.

I use redshift for my counterpart linux distro. Ideally both works well for both OS. Great hunt!

I use Redshift. It is inspired by F.lux. But I don't think it has a official build for Mac, you may have to build yourself from source. I love the plug-n-play aspect of it.

Ah cool! Looks like it does the same job. Honestly wouldn't want to use my laptop without it now.

Me too. I can even look at the screen when this app is determining color temperature on boot.

Pro:

  • You don’t know you need it until you actually experience it
  • Auto switching based on timezone
  • App profiles
  • Excellent settings

Con:

  • Takes some to get used to

You don’t know you need it until you actually experience it

Exactly! 💯

if ya a late night worker this a must for SURE!

I try not to be now but often get carried away 🙈

All the time you abuse my comments, and my publication, you are abusing

I'm definitely going to give it a try. I had no idea this type of software existed.

it's a bit strange at first if you've never used it but if you use a computer late at night it will help!

always loved this app, shame apple came along and pretended like they came up with it by baking it into the OS effectively f__ing them in the process. love flux.

Congratulation! Your hunt was ranked in 8th place on 25 May 2018 on Steemhunt.

We have upvoted your post for your contribution within our community.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing your next hunt!

Want to chat? Join us on:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77