SmartPill - Motility Testing System

in #steemhunt6 years ago

SmartPill

Motility Testing System


Screenshots

fidel-villegas-smart-pill-test-970-444-20171214141553.jpg

smartpill-motility-capsule-f.jpg
View Image
jnm-20-265f2.mp4
View Video
smartpill-motility-recorder-f.jpg
View Image
smartpill-motiligI-software-f.jpg
View Image

Hunter's comment

Abdominal pain is a common childhood complaint and sometimes doesn't seems to have a clear cause.
Research studies can be overwhelming as involves many factors like the nervous system, genetics, bacteria, etc. Smartpill fulfills its purpose by:

Ability to localize disease to specific regions of the GI tract in the presence of overlapping motility symptoms.

This System helps detecting gastrointestinal transit abnormalities as measure pH, temperature and pressure helping doctors in diagnose. Is composed of an ingestible capsule with a sensor SmartPill Motility Capsule that can travel through the GI tract to asses its motility and the complementary tools for recording, analize, calculates and tracks data to identify motility disorders SmartPill Motility Recorder and MotiliGI Software.

A single test provides valuable diagnostic information, including gastric emptying time, colonic transit time, whole gut transit time and pressure patterns from the antrum and duodenum.


Link

https://www.medtronic.com/covidien/en-us/products/motility-testing/smartpill-motility-testing-system.html


Contributors

Hunter: @jenina619



Steemhunt.com

This is posted on Steemhunt - A place where you can dig products and earn STEEM.
View on Steemhunt.com

Sort:  

Smart Pill is a result of advanced biological and technological development. Well if this is swallowed will it be able to come out of our body or it stays inside?

Thank you so much for boosting my hunt🚀 It depends on how slowly intestines moves it can be from just hours to 3-5 days working its way through the patient system then the pill go out in a natural way it doesn't get stuck inside a normal body

Posted using Partiko Android

YOU ARE VERIFIED.

remember to hunt really your best finds on the web, we want the site to be fully of quality awesome products that people will love!

some power tips for the next hunt.. .

  • use animated gifs up to 5mb
  • quote some of the text using > arrow
  • write your opinions about the product
  • comment pro and cons on other hunts
  • upvote and resteem your favs of the day
  • write a blog post about your top 5/10/25 :)


This a cool idea. Obviously it's something in the beginning stages of it's technology but this is something that will be huge in the future. Transmitting data from inside the body over time makes sense. While I'm not sure if this use case is popular I'm sure others will and in time the right uses for a smart pill like this will reveal themselves. Really interesting to think about medicine from this way.

Thank you for checking it and leave a comment☺ Yes, I think maybe this kind of technology is even safer or better than X-Rays

Yea, I think it's cool. I saw it in a Jetson's cartoon when I was a kid lol. There was also a ride at EPCOT with the same Idea. I think we will see more of this in the very near future. I'm glad this company is giving it a shot.

Yes!!! Jetsons predicted a PillCam!😃💊👨‍🚀

Posted using Partiko Android

But it went into a mommy I think and I thought George was going to die cuz I found cobwebs in him

Posted using Partiko Android

It was one of the darkests episodes😁19eyyknvkjm40jpg.jpg It predicted not only the pillcam but also the software!😲

Did you actually see the episode or look it up. I just happened to remember it from when I watched as a kid now I'm thinking about looking it up on the internet and we watching it LOL

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a curious thing, when I was a kid I also liked Jetsons but when once mentioned here no one haven't heard about..🤣 When I was posting this hunt the Jetsons came into my mind, the robot pill and so and I thought it was my imagination🤣..then you told about that and I remembered it was actually a real episode🙆‍♀️ then I googled for images!😃

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the idea behind of digesting something in order to diagnose gastro intestinal problems. However, I believe the concern of anyone digesting anything is - is it safe? I think including that information in the hunt could help readers easily assess if they want to check it out or not.

Putting this concern aside, this does seem to be an advancement in the medical field providing doctors with another tool to help diagnose problems. In order for doctors to properly prescribe correct medications to patients, they need to come up with the correct diagnosis. I may not be a doctor but a programmer, but for me to properly fix a bug, I need to be able to identify the root cause of it. I believe the same principle applies to medical science and to other fields as well.

Hi! Thanks for your comment, there wasn't enough space to add this info in the post but medical studies evaluated safety and efficacy of SmartPill and concuded it's safe non-invassive assessment technology that provides valid info about gastrointestinal complications so they can get the best treatment. Simple, painless and avoids uses of wires attached or X-Rays radiation.

It wirelessly transmits data about your GI tract to a recorder that you wear on a belt clip or lanyard around your neck as you go about your daily activities.

Depending on how slowly intestines moves it can be from just hours to 3-5 days working its way through the patient system.
Contraindications are patients who have heart pacemakers or pacemakers in other organs, FDA advises against giving SmartPill to them and those who has a MRI scheduled just to avoid to go with a pill inside of them.

That is pretty amazing actually, it will become the future of digestive tract testing. Great find !!!

😉Thank you for your nice comment! I love when I see technology used to create devices that can improve health💊

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks like it is just the start of smart pills. I have a feeling this is where the future of medicine is heading. This has the potential to diagnose and prevent a lot of medical problems before they ever come to fruition. This is going to be huge in the future. Good find

Yes!💪😁 Thank you for checking it and comment!!😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice post I like

Amazing hunt. The issue of tormenting but elusive stomach disorder will be squarely tacked by thus product. The community appreciate this hunt.

Thank you so much😊 I'm glad you found it interesting

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations!

We have upvoted your post for your contribution within our community.
Thanks again and look forward to seeing your next hunt!

Want to chat? Join us on:

Many Thanks!!!🎈🎉😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29