Multipass - A mini-cloud on your Mac or Windows workstation

in #steemhunt5 years ago (edited)

Multipass

A mini-cloud on your Mac or Windows workstation


Screenshots

2020-01-31_00-52-28.png

2020-01-31_01-10-38.png
View Image

Hunter's comment

Multipass is a lightweight, well compared to Docker and K8S. Its easy to install on MacOS and Linux and provides full fledged environment to test apps, build code etc.

I am these days using to quickly test things and build code on my lcoal system.


Link

https://multipass.run


By default the multipass primary starts with 1 GB RAM. The tricks to increase RAM is here https://github.com/canonical/multipass/issues/1158#issuecomment-548073024

Sort:  

Interesting tool. I think this is more valuable for Windows and MacOS users

Though on Windows these days an inbuilt linux support is present. I have not used it though

I have tried Windows Subsystem for Linux once. I had a Python script with a GTK GUI and I couldn't get it render properly on Windows. I think WSL works nicely, at least better than Cygwin but I don't know if WSL supports Linux containers and container managers like Docker. Last time I have seen Docker on Windows it run the containers on CoreOS in Virtualbox.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65