How it works

in #steemhost6 years ago

The secret to Steemhost is an important aspect of STEEM - zero transaction charges. One of the major ways that people can earn income on a website is by posting advertisements. Many routes like Google Adwords or Affiliation programs tally the earnings that a website might make until it reaches $10 or $100 and then a payment is sent. In the case of steemhost.com steem power delegation can be initiated once a trigger point of 1 steem is reached. The reward system uses delegation for two reasons.

1 - Removing steem from the system helps support the price of steem. Delegating steem prevents it from being sold.

2 - Delegation increases the value of a person's curation ability. I can remember when I received 0.001 everytime I voted for myself (no one else did). Even today, I tend to vote by myself ... because I really am very boring.

Youtube pays roughly $7.60 per 1,000 ad views (0.0076 per view). This means that a Youtuber would need to have 13158 views before they get their first paycheque.

In contrast a host (or visitor) only need to reach 1 steem to start receiving their reward (because there is no transaction charge to delegate steem power). The range of rewards for advertisements for views on steemhost can be as low as zero (some "free" advertisements are offered as a public service) to as high as 1 steem.

Positioning your cursor over the advertisement reveals its rewards. When a visitor views this banner ... both the visitor and the host are rewarded 0.01 steem. Seeing this advertisement 100 times will trigger the reward in comparison to Youtube at 13158 views.

In this case this ad pays 0.02 per click. If you are a visitor would you click on this ad? This is my site. So I have already received 0.01 to see this as a visitor. I have also received 0.01 steem since this is my page. If I click this ad, I will receive an additional 0.02 + 0.02. Do you think I will do so?

What does this host get for creating this advertisement:

Unfortunately this time she only earned 0.0033 steem power. But as a visitor I look at that dog ... funny. I continue on and vote for her post ... currently my post is worth $0.19. I also want to see pictures of Cherkassy Island and I vote for her again ... maybe $0.018.

ActionI earnedShe Earned
Visitor View.010
Host View Reward.010
Visitor Click.020.0033
Host Click Reward.020
Voting on her funny video0$0.19
Voting on Cherkassy Island0$0.18

While this isn't representative of every situation, it illustrates the point. Ira's outlay was 0.06 steem (roughly $0.10 USD) she will earn over that amount in about 7 days. My reward was 0.06 steem which gets added to my current steem power delegation.


You can confirm the delegations currently supported by @steemhost01 on https://www.steemworld.com/@steemhost01

This represents my delegations from @steemhost01 today. My activity (views and clicks) as a visitor to various hosts and the activity that various visitors to my page today will be added to this total tomorrow.



Alt text
Visit Me on Steemhost.com/@dwarrilow2002

Sort:  

@dwarrilow2002 You have received a 100% upvote from @nothankyou because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79