Is there a guide for VirtualBox + Ubuntu = STEEM mining on Windows (7/10)?

in #steemhelp8 years ago (edited)

I want to try mining in Ubuntu but don't want to setup a dual boot.

I've read in the comments section elsewhere that we can get VirtualBox + Ubuntu and then mine STEEM while still using Windows. Does a guide already exist (for Dummies) that explains how to setup all of this up?

If not, here's your chance to make some SBD's! :) I'm sure I'm not alone in wanting to know how to do this since it appears that the Windows miners are not as fast as Linux version. So I've downloaded VirtualBox and Ubuntu 16.04 LTS ... what now?

I share this computer with others at work and don't want to go into this blind, screw something up and get everyone pissed at me, so I'd like it if someone with knowledge on the subject could break it down into simple easy to understand steps (ELI5) so I can be sure not to FUBAR this box.

If there is already a guide please link us, thanks! :)

#mining #ubuntu #steem

Sort:  

Here are the two guides that helped me get the install done. Just install VirtualBox, then follow either one of these guides. The video is more up to date, but the text version is not much different.

http://askubuntu.com/questions/142549/how-to-install-ubuntu-on-virtualbox

Once you have ubuntu going, head on over to Joseph's guide here ...
https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@joseph/mining-steem-for-dummies

I don't use Windows but based on general principles you should be able to attach the ubuntu installer iso to the VirtualBox and boot. Choose options for something like "minimal server install" and then follow the regular guilde for building and mining on ubuntu.

Hello @smooth. I have Ubuntu running on my HP Pavilion laptop, and I have VirtualBox running my virtual machines. With the insight shared in this post, I am looking forward to the experience of mining for cryptocurrency.

Steem can't be mined any more. That was only a possibility during the first year or so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62