More noob questions! Why can't I change my keys?

in #steemhelp8 years ago

So I'm new on here and it seems like the first thing I ought to do is change from using my master key to log in to using a new posting key. However, I don't have the pencil button I'm supposed to have:

Image of the thing I do not have

Is this a temporary change due to The Hack? Or is my browser broken and not displaying the little pencil?

Is it a real problem that I can't change keys?

And once I put the secret key into the web UI, isn't it sort of compromised? Can I keep my master key on my machine and only give steemit.com the posting key?

Sort:  

Congratulations @interfect! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44