How I, As A Brand New User, Retrieved My Lost Username

in #steemhelp5 years ago (edited)

I'm new to steemit. I can't recall exactly when, but about a week ago I registered the account with the free option and confirmed my e-mail. I then deleted my e-mail and forgot about my username (thinking I'd be able to recover it later).
When I got the confirmation e-mail today, I clicked the link and created a master password. But oh no...it didn't log me in and I couldn't remember what my username was.
I soon found out that there is no easy way to recover an account username, even if you have the e-mail address associated with it.
The initial account creation e-mail was long gone so that option was off the table.
There would be no support option.
I tried looking on some other steemit site (whale or something) to sort by 0 reputation, thinking I could find new accounts; there were far too many.
I had to get some work done.

Then I took a break and gave it another shot about 2 hours after I had initially set my master password.
I came across the following:
https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@steemychicken1/general-instructions-for-account-recovery
The part that interested me was

"you can find that info on https://steemd.com/@steem
press ctrl+f and find your username"

I couldn't ctrl+f to find my username, but this part caught my eye.

I had a hunch: Perhaps when I created my master password, there was some activity on steemd; this would mean my username would be visible buried under lots of logs.

I saw the time of the most recent entry was currently 2018-10-31T17:24:48+00:00
Okay, so I'll just go page by page searching for "T15" (2 hours ago)
After going to page 2 and scrolling down a few entries...bingo! There it was!

newaccount.png

I was able to login successfully (well obviously), now that I knew my username.

If you're reading this and you're a brand new member who has forgotten their username, give this a look and see if you can remember your username when you spot it:
https://steemd.com/@steem
Knowing WHEN you did your account confirmation also really helps narrow it down (just subtract how long ago it was from the most recent entry in that database for a rough estimate).

Sort:  

Congratulations @init.crypto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22