Power and Vests: What is the Difference?

in #steemhelp8 years ago

I recently clicked on "Power Down" and apparently it kicked in. That's okay, since I'll probably just re-invest it with a Power Up. (I now see that I can cancel it if I wish, so that's good there is such an option.) My question is: When I click on "Transfers", it shows how many "Vests" I have for the Power Down, but this is a higher number than my current "Power" balance. When I click on my username to view my account, I see only the "Power" number; the "Vests" number does not appear unless I look at transfers. Can anyone help me understand what I am looking at and why these numbers are so different? Thanks.

Sort:  

VESTS equal shares in a pool of STEEM. The GUI should covert VESTS to STEEM before it displays, but currently shows implementation details. Also, the VESTS to STEEM ratio changes over time, so it isn't trivial to represent. Perhaps the closest thing we could represent is VESTS as a percentage withdraw rate.

Okay. Thanks for the explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66756.40
ETH 3468.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19