What is the point of Steemit?

in #steemhelp8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steamy Steemers,

I am researching the basics of Steemit for my own understanding, and I want to share what I learn in an easy-to-read How-To Steemit Guide...

So, from what I can gather, Steemit is a social media platform which does not allow censorship.

Steemit is an online community which is focused on bringing cryptocurrency to the masses. (How??)

Steemit is meant to be an all encompassing and positive environment to allow people to communicate in helpful and valuable manners. @ned

Steemit is creating a new way to distribute earnings in social media. Rather than users doing all the work for free and then get sold to advertisers, Steemit aims at distributing a part of it's value back to those who increase it's value -> content creator and curator.” @cryptoctopus

There are still many holes in this fabric of explanation of what is the Vision of Steemit, but I will continue to ask more specific questions and digging for clear and concise definitions!

Do you see another point that I'm missing of what Steemit is?

Be Well!

  • Bee

Sort:  

Content by the people, for the people. Steem is a cooperative of content creators and bloggers that work together to allocate social currency among all who contribute value to the platform. When we all work together we produce something that has value that is in excess of the sum of our individual contributions. Steem represents a stake in this excess value.

If being paid for providing and curating content to the people who actually make the content is too difficult to understand then I'm not sure if there is a suitable explanation for you, but i'll give it a shot.

Steemit

What: A social -media platform
Why: Because Steemit feels your time is valuable and you should be compensated for it. Also, no other platform does it.
How: By letting the users decide who should be rewarded with the daily issurance of tokens by creating and voting on content.

Crypto-currencies

What: A system of money that is independendent of governments to control and regulate.
Why: Because centralize authorities who control money always screw it up.
How: By the use of computers running open-source software and cryptography the rules of the money are known and controlled by everyone.

Economics

What: The majority of people don't understand how money(fiat) is created.
Why: Because they believe it's something magical that only governments and the elite can manage.
How: Through centuries is miseducation and violence.

Aside from the shaming language used to tell me that perhaps I cannot understand such a seemingly simple exchange, I do appreciate your time in trying to explain.

Where does the "money" come from?
Steemit "prints" it's own money, and we vote where to put that money? Similar to the government?

I really did wish it made more sense, but to me, people are writing content, other people vote up or down... then "money" magically appears for the people who do the best and most useful writing? Is this how it works?

Sorry I came across that way. That is why I threw in the part about economics. Steem creates tokens the same way government creates money, out of thin air. The difference is that Steem has a set supply limit and rewards to those who voluntary want to be apart of it. Governments have no limits to their supply and print money forever. They then use the threat of violence to make people use it. Money is only as valuable as what you get for it. Steem is valuable because of the information and community around it. Money is valuable because people value their freedom. That is why the US dollar is so valuable, because it is has highest threat to peoples freedom around the world.

first time accidentally hitting downvote. HA :)

So, pheonike, is it useful/cool/good in some way for me to upvote whatever it was you accidentally downvoted, as a way to at least partially "fix" the accidental downvote? I am looking for ways to contribute, and this would be my first attempt at doing so, assuming I understand it right. (baaaaaaaaaaby steps here for me, hahaha!)

If it is good for me to do so, how would/could I identify the accidental downvote?

THANKS!!!!

Adding or changing your vote won't make a difference to it. I can change it again, but I would just loose any awards I may have received up to that point. It's not a big reward, so its all good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65